You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Octopus

in #nature7 years ago

Great picture and interesting fact. I once saw a programme (probably Sir David Attenborough) about an experiment where an Octopus was presented with a glass jar with a cork lid. Inside the jar sat a large prawn and octopuses like prawns. It took two hours, but it figured how to open the jar and get the prize. Amazing. Funnily enough, some people refer to the plural of octopus as octopi, but that seems a bit fussy to me, an English speaker!

Sort:  

I will have to see if I can find this octopus aptitude test and watch it!
Octopi is apparently from a time when the English language was being "Latinised" but is not really relevant now . https://steemit.com/nature/@umibozu/the-octopus. Thanks for the comment! followed

You are welcome, I will follow you to see what more you find out about this creature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90