Colours of the Rockies - A Constant Supply of Gatorade 💙

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wondered why some lakes are that vibrant turquoise colour?

I was blown away when I saw my first “gatorade” lake. If you’ve ever been lucky enough to visit the Rocky Mountains outside of Winter, then you’ll know what I mean.

20170602-131922-peyto-lake-thawing-blue.jpg

Glacier fed lakes and rivers get their intense colour from the “rock flour” that drifts into the water. The rock flour (or silt), is made up of very fine particles of rock. It's created when the glacier starts to melt and the rocks underneath the ice grind together. The rock flour is then carried down into the lake, and is suspended in the water. When light hits the water, the tiny pieces of silt reflect the most amazing colours 😍

You’ll notice on any given day, the colour of the lakes can actually vary quite a lot. I have visited many lakes around the Banff area, and each time I visit, the colour is different. Heck even on the same day the colour can be different. The angle in which the sunlight hits the small particles will alter the colour, along with what time of year it is. In the Summer, the colours are at their best, mainly because there's a constant flow of silt entering the water. As the warmer weather starts to end and the snowmelt dries up, the colour of the lakes and rivers change as well.

Peyto Lake

My all time favourite lake in the Rockies is Peyto Lake, pronounced Pee-Toe. Each time I see it, it takes my breath away, purely because it's different, every single time. Here’s a few photos to illustrate just how much the colour can vary, depending on the light and season.

20160730-140520-peyto-lake.jpg

Peyto Lake is off the Icefields Parkway - one of the most scenic drives in the world. It’s a short hike up to Bow Summit which overlooks the most amazing valley. Most times I visit, there seems to be a storm passing through. But it sure does make for some dramatic skies.

It can get crowded at times, but if you manage to get a moment to yourself, it really is something else.

JessicaOutside-logo-blue.png

All content is my own unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thanks so much guys! I really appreciate it 🙏

I think i will always dazzled when i see this beautiful colors!

Me too! Seriously out of this world

Another gorgeous post Jessica! You should pin them to steemit worldmap so we can curate them for you.

Go to https://www.steemitworldmap.com/
Click the code slider at the bottom
Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
Copy and paste the generated code in your post
Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks so very much legend! And will do. Looks like a cool project 💙

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jessicaoutside
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=colours-of-the-rockies-a-constant-supply-of-gatorade


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I tend to return to your blog and look at the images. Nature can look so tranquil. I should go out for a walk now before sun sets, I have been inside most of the day. Thanks for sharing your photos!

Ah I love it. I'm really glad you enjoy them. Mother nature sure is hard at work. I hope you got the chance to head out for a bit 💙

Yes I got out for a very nice walk in the evening, at coast of the the Baltic Sea. See photo below :)

20180605_210225.jpg

Gatorade lakes HHAHAHA

Interesting fact, I had no idea about the reasons for those colors. I've seen that happen in Patagonia - One day they are blue, then green, then cristal clear.. My profile picture ins one of those cases, looks like a gigantic gatorade lake.

I love that scenery! Makes me want to walk deep into the forest.

Haha I didn't coin the term but I like it 😂 Ah Patagonia. Oh how I wish to visit that place. It looks so epic!

It's funny, do need to find some orange lakes though hahahaha

If you ever plan to come to Patagonia give me a call, I've lived two months there with only a backpack.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks very much 🙏

I actually can only say one thing while staring at these pictures: WOW! and maybe a bit more WOWOWOW damn.. that is really beautiful! Great pictures..

Thanks so much! Nature is the true artist. She sure does put on a show 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48