Buffalo Jam - The Name Says It All

in #nature6 years ago

No, I am not talking about an exotic new spicy jelly or fancy chicken wing sauce. I am referring to one of the various types of traffic backups one can expect when travelling through Yellowstone National Park.

This was on our way in to the small town of West Yellowstone on our 2nd day in the park.

I love it when my wife @juliabreheny insistently whisper yells at me to not roll the window down.

Sort:  

Very cool, @jbreheny :) I would be rolling down my window and talking to them....right or wrong (and probably to my demise). Those babies are the cutest.

The commentary was fabulous! LOL You two are a hoot!

We're just a couple of crazy folks getting to live in the home of these and many other incredible animals. I think I might have to do some posts like you where I educate along with my photos. (Although my photos will not be as awesome as the ones that you take).

Honestly, if you have a great subject, the photography doesn't matter. I'm feeling all this out just like you. You learn as you go. Some things enlighten, some things kick your butt ;) You learn something new regardless. But say those buffaloes - 'They' are so spectacular that their beauty and power speaks for itself - you are just the messenger with the camera. The more you photograph, the more you learn and grow. Have fun and share! And yes, definitely merge the photos with what you've learned - I just started doing this! I love interacting and learning more from the comments.

Great post, @jbreheny - and congratulations on your ASAPers mention!

I'm already planning on doing a post on Yellowstone and everything I've learned about this incredible place. Stay tuned for more.

Looking forward to it, @jbreheny. Tag me when you do. I'm sure it is amazing and apparently very large....and you didn't get gobbled up by a super volcano ;)

We have been here almost a month and I don't think we have seen even half of the park yet. We are working 5 days a week mind you but there is a lot to see and it is always changing due to the volcanic nature of the area. I will definitely tag you when I start on my Yellowstone posts.

I would absolutely LOVE that, @jbreheny. What a fabulous life memory you are creating with your family - amazing. You could actually write a 'book' about all this afterward - I'd buy it! ;)

Sweet, My first customer!

Lol

Same as @wolfhart, i am here because you're featured in the @asapers article. Buffalo are super cool animals. Thx for sharing.

HI @yogajill, Thanks for checking out my post. My wife and I are living, working and playing in Yellowstone National Park for the summer and I will be posting many more videos and pictures from this AMAZING park.

Sounds like a lot of fun!!

Congratulations @jbreheny, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 68

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

I loved this, so cute seeing all the calf's walking with their mum's, when ever I visit my parents we always have a cow jam lol, good for a novelty but probably not a day to day occurrence. Thanks for sharing and bring back some childhood memories, @insideoutlet.

Woot, woot!

So many buffalos so cool! I hope none got injured, some people are too impatient and can't enjoy the beauty of animals!

None were injured. I guarantee if that guy had actually bumped into one he would have got an ass whoopin by anyone who witnessed it.

Idiots, the guy in the minivan or what ever on the wrong side of the road, pretty cool to see, reminds me of our trip through Canada a few years ago, and all the buffalo along the road we encountered, it was so cool to see.

My wife and son got to see one 4 times that size after they pulled off onto a pullout to watch a herd cross a river.

I came to your post because you were featured by @asapers

There always has to be one

There is actually a name for it here in Yellowstone. They call them Tourons.

1 part tourist + 1 part moron = Touron


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @jbreheny! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You missed the fun in not saying hello to those guys

Not necessarily to this extent but this is a daily event here. Making friends with these big boys and scheduled to play poker with "the herd" next week. LOL