#BonsaiNews: Searching for an illusive ancient temple bonsai

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

THESE last few days have gone by so fast and yet, they have not only been super enlightening but they have also gone to waste to some degree.

Last week Monday, I set out to do some research on a story I heard some years ago.

maxresdefault-20.jpg
(IMAGE SOURCE: asiadaytours.com)

It goes something like this: A magnificently large and beautiful bonsai was discovered in the ruins of an ancient Asian temple ( which I believe is Ta Prohm in Cambodia ) some years ago - the tree had survived only on drops of water which would fall down onto it from cracks in the ceiling and received minimal to no sunlight for centuries.

The tree was eventually discovered and housed somewhere by a collector of rare plants.


The Ta Prohm temple itself was constructed in 1186AD and later abandoned during the 15th century - it was later declared a World Heritage site in 1992.

Not only is it a site which boasts marvelous views and magnificent photo opportunities, but it is also a place which you need to add to your bucket list as a must visit.


Naturally, I thought this was hogwash until I heard the same story two weeks ago however, I have been completely and utterly unable to find anything to tie it to.

Now ironically, I did come across the oldest known bonsai trees on the planet, of which two have already been shared with you - Ficus retusa Linn (1000 years old) and the Japanese White Pine (400 years old and survivor of Hiroshima bombing).

Additionally, I found some unique and old bonsai worth sharing.

At an astounding 600 years old, and what I thought could be the illusive tree I was searching for (later ruled out), this Red Pine is suspected to be the largest bonsai on the planet and also requires additional support in the form of support beams to ensure that one of its main branches does not break.

beb31cc9edacbb917e029c76631a32bc.jpg
tumblr_lbn2xmxHWM1qegl3to1_500.jpg
(IMAGE SOURCE: pinterest)

Currently, the over 16 foot tall and 30 foot wide is housed at Akao Herb & Rose Garden in Atami, Japan.

Here I thought I might have struck gold (also ruled out) when it was established that this proven to be over 1000 year old Juniper, collected in the wild, popped up during my search.

Due to a lack of available information on this tree, I've contacted the owner and hope that he replies.

In the meantime, all that I know about this Juniper is that it is housed at the Mansei-en Bonsai (Omiya, Japan) nursery belonging to the Kato family - the tree is said to still be in training.

fuXSpB8.jpg
(IMAGE SOURCE: pinterest)

Either way, the search continues.

END OF ARTICLE:

Do you know anything about the bonsai tree I am searching for? Let me know if you know anything.

Do you want to share your bonsai related content?

The known #BonsaiCommunity members include (and you should follow them for cool content):
@creativetruth | @daniellozada | @romanolsamuels | @bonsaiaustin | @imagendevoz | @synekto
Comment below with your handle and, if you post bonsai related content your handle could appear above.

I would also like to include horticulturists in future posts - so feel free to comment with your handle and it could also be added.

giphy.gif

Sort:  

I like bonsai so much. This is long term process. But it is a beautiful art of tree.

Bonsai are so beautiful indeed - bonsai are the perfect example of long term investment. The effort you put in does not pay off today, and it requires constant, moment to moment care. Looking after plants is one of the greatest forms of love in my opinion - a plant does not ask to be watered, or cared for. It simply is there and if you choose to not care for it, it can die. It needs you but does not ask for you.

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Join us on discord:
discord invite

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Very interesting. I have come across a few bonsai here in Japan but didnt pay much mind. However, my interest has been peaked. Thank you. Definitely wanna know more as they are indeed a work of art.

I will be waiting to see what you find. I have not heard of this tree before.

I am still searching - but no luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51