'Bowser' As a Bug: 2-4-1 Post: Ecobug Challenge Feat: @papa-pepper's Photo Challenge! Guest Appearance by: Femme Fetale 🐝🐢🦋

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Did someone turn 'Bowser' into a yellow bug? This guy reminds me of Mario Cart and Super Smash Bros! I guess it would actually be a realistic game to be called "Super Smash BUGS!" since so many critters end up beneath our feet however, no smashing of bugs happened here!

zoom bug.jpg____________
Alright everyone, here is another crazy looking critter I found on one of my strolls! Can you tell me what it is? If you're able to identify it, I will send you a gift! =D


IMG_9048.JPG


Out playing in the fields, camera in my hand for ecotrain's egobug-challenge in combination with @papa-pepper's combination photography challenge I was greeted by many animals who wanted to be involved! Originally I was trying to capture the 'femme fatale' spider that I had once wrote a post about you can see that post here!


IMG_9018 (2).JPG

IMG_9022.JPG


However, with my head as close to it as I was comfortable with (and not wanting to test her patience with me), I saw this eye-catching incredible creature crawling up a branch and decided to refocus on it instead!


IMG_9023.JPG


I attempted telepathy with the creature "Would you like to climb on board a beautiful flower, friend? @papa-pepper likes his plants and animals to party together!"


IMG_9025 (2).JPG


He must have heard me and confirmed he indeed, wanted to party because as you can see, he found himself getting acquainted in no time!


IMG_9035.JPG


I found him in some plants near the rice terraces behind my house in Bali, Indonesia. Being from North America originally, this new (to me) tropical natural world always amazes me with its vibrancy and uniqueness! There is never any shortage of color on the bugs around here!


IMG_9043.JPG


Now, to get the proof! Since I had no idea what this little guy was or how interested he was in being on my face, I rushed this proof-shot and so the little critter is a little bit hard to see with all of the yellow happening here, however, I have drawn you an arrow ;)


IMG_9062_LI(2).jpg


I'm excited to see if someone can tell me what he is!

I am always interested in learning more about what's around me! Just for more fun, I decided to open this identification task to you all instead of checking myself, so we can see what you all come up with! Isn't this fun?


If you like this buggy-bug world, @papa-pepper is running his contest now and ecotrain has just started theirs which will run every Monday! Let's show Steemit the natural world around us and encourage a bit more time outdoors, basking in the beauty nature surrounds us with! Finally let me leave you with a short poem I wrote to all the bugs out there:


Vow to the Critters:

I'm sorry I was fearful,
And never tried to understand,
I'm sorry I smooshed you,
In between my feet and hands,
I want things to be different,
I want to see you now,
I promise to love you and appreciate you,
This is my nature vow.


Sending you love today and everyday, encouraging you to stop and take in the beauty and magnificence there is around us! Check out my blog for all of the things in life that bring me joy, sunshine and happiness, delivered straight through my senses, shared with yours!
XO,
🌍🌴🐝🐢🦋🌱


ecotrain.png
Check out #ecotrain for Earth-loving and inspiring posts!
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort:  

It is a Tortoise beetle larva.

Possibly Chelymorpha cassidea or a very close cousin.

I tried searching locale: Indonesia, but the English resources were few!

Very neat find!! Search Tortoise Beetle (there are many!!) and keep your eyes out for him in adult form in the next couple weeks!!

Peace!!

Hi @em3 AWESOME! I am so happy to see someone was curious enough to check it out haha, I was struggling not doing it myself. I googled the name you sent, and I see a whole bunch of different images so I am going to research it more this weekend. I see one photo that does look like this guy then a whole bunch of others that don't. I just got back from some quick travel so I'll have to put some more time into it! <3

Yeah, there are many, many tortoise beetles. Maybe in a few weeks when you see the adult you can get a photo and we can find exactly which one!
Goodluck!!

Thank you so much, I just went through and sprinkled my love all over your blog! Thank you for playing along on my bug identification game =D

You are very welcome and thank you! I appreciate the sprinkles very much!!

Peace!

What a stunning little caterpillar! and cool spider too!Loads of beauty in these photos

Hey @jeffjagoe you think he's a caterpillar? I was thinking more of a beetle! I was really hoping someone who knew would turn up here and surprise me with the answer ;) I checked to make sure the spider wouldn't kill me when I originally found them taking over my garden :O

i like all macro shot,wonderful bug photography...

Thank you! I am hoping to get another lens that zooms in even more soon =D

"Vow to the Critters:
I'm sorry I was fearful,
And never tried to understand,
I'm sorry I smooshed you,
In between my feet and hands,
I want things to be different,
I want to see you now,
I promise to love you and appreciate you,
This is my nature vow."

Yes! This is my favourite part :)

Well that certainly doesn't surprise me =D <3

fantastic post! i love how you got the bug onto a frangipani flower.. now what is that bug called.. well.. thats why we have the word bug! no one knows ;-).. lol

it doesn't look like a great bug to touch though!>. i wonder about those little spikes! nice one!!

Haha yes he liked the yellow! You don't know Alex! Come on! I thought for sure you'd have an answer! I'll just have to ask the internet I guess.

I wasn't too keen on touching him so I can't say if he was prickly or not :P Looked like a no-no to me!

Love the close- up photo with you being scared it seems to be so close to the spider net. haha But hey, you got to love the courage in order to get a great post on Steemit. lol

As always amazing post and pictures. Thank you for sharing it with us :)

Haha @awakentolife I wrote a post about that spider before when I walked into a big one's net at my house. I was soooo horrified and the web is so sticky I was not about to relive that :P

Thank you for the love though, I am happy to share these crazy little guys with you! Hope you're having a wonderful week! <3

hahaha happened to me many times. Not a good feeling at all as I always think tarantula is the one made the net and she is about to come down pissed I destroyed her web and bite the crap out of me. lol

You are always more than welcome my amazing friend. I hope you have a wonderful week as well. :)

Good. I love your vow to nature. It's probably a caterpillar from a moth. Be careful handling them. They might be poisonous. Thanks for sharing.

Hmmm I really will have to look it up and try to identify it just to cure my curiosity ;) I didn't touch it, I have touched too many things in my life that I regretted after lol

I'll let you know if I do find the answer! =D

Please let me know if you do. I did try to find it on google but came up with nothing.

I'm told it's tortoise beetle larvae, there are some images online that do match that name but also a host of others, I need to research it more but I would be thrilled if we've cracked our mystery =D 💜

I think your right. Like @em3 said.
I looks very much like this one:
http://bugguide.net/node/view/713269

Lovely looking bug my friend! Wow you are getting more and more courageous and approach closer with them i noticed!
Beautiful post!
@progressivechef

Hi chef! I think you are right, Steemit is giving me more courage to get closer to the bug world I used to be afraid of! <3

GREAT photos!!!!! Did you actually touch that little fella? Is he spicky like a cactus? or are they actually just soft spickys? That spider gives me the hebajebbies :) are those little babies in that web with it or are those his dinner? You always manager to catch the best pictures :) Hope you win!!!!! You have my vote!! SUNSHINE247

I did not touch anything in the pictures haha . The spider got it's own post a while ago (a different spider of the same species) as it scared me to death hanging out in my garden. The little ones in the web are the males! The big one is the female (crazy huh?) The little yellow guy, I would think he was spikey but I can't say because I didn't want to get poisoned :P Thanks Sunshine, I really just love walking around with my camera so the bugs just want to be famous ;)

Lucky you - you get to see so many neat bugs .. the extent of the bugs we see are rolly pollys, spiders, ants :( SUNSHINE247

Wellll that used to be one of my favorite things about California ;) NO CRITTERS in my bed! Now it's kind of a gentle acceptance that they bite and like to crawl everywhere ;) Have a wonderful weekend XOXO

LOL - bed bugs :)

The photos are amazing. Thank you for sharing this interesting post @heart-to-heart

Thanks @djunmul, nature is incredible and I love being able to show her off ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63889.31
ETH 2757.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66