You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inside a Massive Oak Tree

in #nature6 years ago

That's such a great tree -- and a great way to experience it, too. I wonder how old that oak is. I hope you get to enjoy it for many years, too! Looking at the big branch on the right side, it looks like that tree has been struck by lightning at least once. I wonder how it compares to California's largest oaks on the American Forests' Champion Trees Registry.

You could have a champion there! It deserves to be measured. If you do measure it, please let me know. I'd like to resteem your report. I'm resteeming this one, too, on my brand-new project - the Steemit @natureclub. Enjoy that oak -- it's a great one! :D

Sort:  

Thanks, I too am curious how old this tree is. I wanted to take my local natural resources teacher out there, but didn't get around to it--he was talking about teaching a field class where you get to go visit all the oldest and largest trees in California, might have to add this on to the list! I need to go back out there to see it, been a few years. I will definitely measure it when I do, just need to borrow some equipment. I will let you know when I have some numbers, and more photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65