Inside a Massive Oak Tree

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Wandering around in the the forest is a great way to find new and interesting things. I originally found this meadow and giant oak tree hiking around with my brother. It's only a few miles from my house, but we would have never known about it if we didn't stray from the main roads and trails, hopping a few fences in the process. Later I took my girlfriend out to this spot--the lovely and talented @joleenwillis --and she took some photos.

10952139_10206182591067610_937328391_o.jpg

What made this huge oak tree even more awesome was the fact that you could climb inside it! About four feet up there was a hole in the tree, just big enough to climb through. Once inside, the cavity was much bigger, wide enough to stretch my arms out, and at least 15 feet high.

10876746_10206182588867555_858164454_o.jpg

There was a second opening above, like a natural window, which I climbed to in order to take a look out. This is by far the biggest oak tree I've seen, with branches bigger than entire oak trees surrounding the rest of the meadow. Writing about it makes me want to head back out there!

10943176_10206182590907606_565646414_o.jpg

Sort:  

One could make a home inside it :)

... that could be the home of the pimpest squirrel on the block...

I think there was some kind of rodent living in there at the time, probably wasn't happy that we were in there!

If you’ve seen Chip&Dale cartoons then u know what may be coming next if u return 😂

Unbelieveable! That is probably the most beautiful oak I have ever seen. Where we live I cut firewood for sale. So when I get into the woods I see some things. This is cool, and It is even more cool that you got in it! @freedompoint

Thanks, I also spend a lot of time in the woods, worked for the Forest Service, enjoy cutting wood and just exploring. In all that time in the forest, this is definitely one of the most impressive trees I've seen.

That's incredible! You should swap the first and second photos so that inside one is the thumbnail. Ya need to see it to believe it!

Thanks, that's a good idea!

Was joleen standing on her head to get that shot? lol

She definitely does what it takes to get the shot!

Um no, Joleen was laying on her back in mice feces.

What a truly amazing old tree! That is just incredible. It must have been quite something while alive.

It's still living despite the huge cavity. It's so big that there is still enough of the outer layers keeping it alive.

Ok, that is truly awesome!

That's incredible that its still standing with the whole middle gone! Great shot.

Thanks, it's a beast!

I LOVE the image of you in the tree It is an incredible photo.

Thanks, Joleen is a great photographer, I just do what she tells me!

That's such a great tree -- and a great way to experience it, too. I wonder how old that oak is. I hope you get to enjoy it for many years, too! Looking at the big branch on the right side, it looks like that tree has been struck by lightning at least once. I wonder how it compares to California's largest oaks on the American Forests' Champion Trees Registry.

You could have a champion there! It deserves to be measured. If you do measure it, please let me know. I'd like to resteem your report. I'm resteeming this one, too, on my brand-new project - the Steemit @natureclub. Enjoy that oak -- it's a great one! :D

Thanks, I too am curious how old this tree is. I wanted to take my local natural resources teacher out there, but didn't get around to it--he was talking about teaching a field class where you get to go visit all the oldest and largest trees in California, might have to add this on to the list! I need to go back out there to see it, been a few years. I will definitely measure it when I do, just need to borrow some equipment. I will let you know when I have some numbers, and more photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67527.39
ETH 3259.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64