Foraging Mystery Winners!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

So what did I find in my local park? I'll tell you what -- and who are the winners of my foraging mystery contest! I've got a few reflections, too. Can you relate?

x mystery foraging find 4.jpg

I'm a forager, no doubt. I'll pick up almost anything I find that seems useful one way or another. Sometimes it takes a lot of expertise to identify the right plant or mushroom, or the consequences could be severe. Other times, it's easy. And sometimes it's downright surprising or funny what I find. And sometimes I pick up a few lessons along the way, too.


The Challenge

To recap, I was on a walk through one of my neighborhood parks a couple weeks ago. I saw something unexpected along the sidewalk and had to check it out. I made a contest with two chances for prizes. Here's the original post: What Did I Forage? A Quick, Easy Contest for $5 SBD! Let's have some fun! .

x mystery foraging find 1.jpg
There it is, just as I saw it. Lying next to the sidewalk.


What Is It?

It happens every autumn - I get so focused on mushrooms sprouting anywhere and everywhere! Every kind is interesting, even if I can't eat it. So I thought this might be a mushroom. But then it looked like a stone, too. So I picked it up.

x potato 1.jpg

It turned out to be -- a potato! Not an old baked potato, but a small, uncooked Russet potato. Look at those cracks in it. That thing hit the sidewalk hard!

x potato 2.jpg

In my contest, most guesses were that it was a mushroom. I have been finding lots of mushrooms and will be posting about them and eating some of them, too, but not this time. @dswigle hoped it was a Box Turtle. I would have enjoyed that! And I would not eat a box turtle. They need all the help they can get!

Here are the foraging sleuths who guessed right: @builderofcastles, @ewkaw, @chamudiliyanage, @freegardens, @progressivechef, @liliana.duarte. I gave each a number based on this order in the list and used Google's random number generator. And here is the random winner: @progressivechef!

Congratulations on being a lucky foraging sleuth, @progressivechef! Check your wallet!

Two people - @karenb54 and @chefsteve - thought it was a baked potato - close, but they got ruled out of the main contest by their adjective. They did get that it was a potato, though. So I put them in their own contest for $1 SBD - and here is the random winner:

Congratulations @chefsteve! Check your wallet! --- PS: @chefsteve is an even bigger winner, since I messed up and transferred over $2.50, lol. Them's the breaks, as they say! Enjoy those extra winnings! ; )


What Did I Do With It?

Now the question is what to do with it! As a forager, I'm always thinking about how I can use something I find -- or what I should do with it, if it's something that's not part of the natural environment. Should I leave it there? Should I pick it up and put it in a trash can somewhere? Should I take it home?

If it was a stone, I would move it somewhere that the folks mowing the park wouldn't hit it. If it was a mushroom, I'd probably leave it there, since it's along a sidewalk where more people could appreciate it. But a potato?

I have eaten potatoes (and onions, sweet corn, and other produce) that have fallen out of trucks going from farm fields to processing plants. But this little potato was out there in the sun long enough to turn green in parts.

The green parts of potatoes aren't good to eat, because they have high levels of solanine. That's the compound that makes some of the wild relatives of potatoes, tomatoes, and eggplants (all in the Solanum genus) too toxic to eat.

x black nightshade berries.jpg
The high levels of solanine in the green, under-ripe berries of this Black Nightshade (Solanum nigrum) are why I eat only the dark black berries. That's the same solanine that makes potatoes green when they have gotten too much sun.

So I hatched a plan. I was going to save this potato and plant it in the spring! All I had to do was put this little spud in a paper sack out where I keep my other potatoes in storage for the winter. It just has to keep for 3 months. And if it started to sprout, that's ok. It would be ready to plant in early spring.

x potato 4.jpg
Even shriveled potatoes with long sprouts can still produce a lot of potatoes. This big tray of fingerling potatoes on the left came from those sorry-looking potatoes on the right!

The trouble is that store-bought potatoes are often treated with chemicals to keep them from sprouting. Instead, those potatoes just shrivel up. That makes the potatoes hard to sprout for planting. And what about those cracks?

When I harvest potatoes from my garden, sometimes I accidentally cut them with my spading fork. So I eat them first. Or, when I set my potatoes in the shade to dry out before storing them for the winter, the surface nicks and cuts heal over - and those potatoes keep just fine. So I tried some surgery on my little foraged potato.

But the poor potato had been through too much. Those cracks from hitting the ground left deep wounds that led to infection. Poor potato! Fortunately, I compost all my kitchen waste. That means none of it is really wasted. It provides nutrients and organic matter to keep my gardens productive. I toss all my kitchen waste into a container with a lid, and then put it into my compost pile.

That's where I put my rotten little potato. I'm not worried about disease spreading into my garden, because the major diseases (early and late blight) aren't the same as what's rotting this little spud. And I have pretty good potato cultivation practices.


x potato 3.jpg
I may not be able to eat this potato or plant it to grow potatoes next spring. But in my compost pile, it will turn into good organic matter and nutrients for my future gardens and crops! That's a hard-working little potato!

Of the folks that ventured a guess about what I did with my foraging find, only 2 had the right answer. @ewkaw and @progressivechef know me so well - they thought that I would eat that little potato. If it hadn't turned green from sitting in the sun, that would have been the answer, for sure, lol! Here's who had the right answer: @chamudiliyanage and @chefsteve.

And here is the random winner: @chamudiliyanage! Congratulations @chamudiliyanage! Check your wallet!


What Do You Think?

I may not have been able to use my foraged potato directly. But it's going to be useful in my compost and future gardens. Three Steemit folks shared $7.50 SBD in prizes, too! That's a powerful potato! And maybe this post will make more than $7.50 SBD so I come out ahead, too. Either way, I got some fun out of the little spud with my contest - and I hope you did, too!

  • What would you have done with this little potato?
  • What odd things have you found in a local park?
  • Have you eaten food that you found?
  • Do you have a compost pile?
  • Do you grow potatoes?

I really do want to know. I appreciate and enjoy getting to know people here on Steemit. I hope you are getting out to enjoy nature in your neighborhood or other interesting places.


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

I told you it was 100% a potato! :P
Wait, you eat the berries of nightshades? Wow, sound funky/risky (I'm sure it's not, still wouldn't try that)! Btw - in my country the nightshade is called "pomoćnica", meaning she who helps, I wonder why that could be!

Yep, you were right about that potato! Tomatoes and eggplants are also berries of nightshades -- all in the Solanum genus. But tomatoes are so low in solanine that we can eat green tomatoes just fine.

Potatoes are in the Solanum genus, too, and sometimes they put on berries, but they should not be eaten, because of their solanine levels. And new varieties of potatoes get tested for their solanine levels. Some never make it to market, because they have too much solanine in their tubers. These Solanum nigrum berries are fine to eat when they are ripe.

There are some other nightshades in the Solanum genus that aren't good to eat., like the trailing nightshade (Solanum dulcamara). And then there are plants that get called nightshades, like Atropa belladonna being called the Deadly Nightshade. For sure, that nightshade should not be eaten at all!

When I say nightshade I mean the Solanum nigrum from your post. It is THE nightshade around here, others just belong to the genus. :) Better to use scientific names in the future!

Lots of folks around the world eat Solanum nigurm. @galberto, in El Salvador, eats the greens. It's real food for regular people. I like learning how people in other places use their plants for food - or not. Thank goodness for scientific names, or we would all be in real trouble, lol! : )

Woo-hoo! Seems like it's a lucky day for me! I am so happy to be the winner of your contest my friend! Wow!
I think with your usual finds while foraging, you can run such contest regularly, we will all enjoy playing and learning too!
Thanks so much for the prize my friend!

That's luck! And you know a potato when you see one, even if it's laying in the grass next to the sidewalk, lol. I'll have to find something else worth a quiz! ; )

I had such bad luck getting potatoes to grow this year. Pests and killer sun just did them in. They either got ate, or got sun scorched dried, or turned to mush in water.

Usually potatoes are easy. Would love to read about your best potatoe practices.

That's tough luck on your potato crop this year. You are right, potatoes are usually easy, and in almost any space corner of a garden. I'll do a post sometime. I mulch my potatoes pretty deeply -- they like cool roots and warm leaves.

hahaha that was fun! :D
Congrats to the winners!

And poor potato... at least it is good for compost :)

Glad you enjoyed it. I have to make that little potato amount to something, lol. Compost is good for so many things -- like having a place to put a poor rotten potato, lol. Or having a feeling of accomplishment on a frustrating day. I can at least say, "Well, I added to the compost pile today, so I have accomplished something!" ; )

Hahaha Yup, compost pile refiling is an important part of the day :D

Maybe more people would have a compost pile if they knew how productive they could feel! ; )

It looked just exactly like a potato! That's why I assumed it was something else. :-D

Outwitted by the spud that looked too much like a potato, lol! At least you identified what it was, before you talked yourself out of the answer. I got beat at tic-tac-toe by a chicken, once. And my only excuse is that it was a trained chicken, since it was at the Kansas State Fair.

I loved this contest and also your effort to give a proper end to the potato.

If I had looked to this potato I would probably leave it in the garden as I don't have a pile compost where I live (my mother has, and it's great to reduce garbage​ production).

Thanks, @liliana.duarte! And thanks for playing. I like having a compost pile. It's amazing how much biomass they can consume! Your mother knows, for sure!

Exactly, it seems a dark hole, it "disappears" quickly!

Thank goodness, too -- because we all have so much to get rid of! ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25