What Did I Forage? A Quick, Easy Contest for $5 SBD! Let's have some fun!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago

I'm a forager, no doubt about it. I'll pick up almost anything I find that seems useful one way or another. Sometimes it takes a lot of expertise to identify the right plant or mushroom, or the consequences could be severe. Other times, it's easy. And sometimes it's downright surprising or funny what I find.

x mystery foraging find 4.jpg


I was on a walk through one of my neighborhood parks the other day. These pictures show what I found. Underneath these pictures, I have two questions. Each one gives you a chance to win a prize!

x mystery foraging find 1.jpg
There it is. In the center of the picture. Just as I saw it. Lying next to the sidewalk.

x mystery foraging find 2.jpg
Here's a closer look. Is it worth picking up?

x mystery foraging find 3.jpg
I didn't know what this was. Until I picked it up!


Here are my questions:

  1. What did I find?
  2. What did I do with it?

You can try to answer either question, or both. For each question, put your best answer as a comment down below. I'll pick a random winner from the correct answers to each question, when this post closes in 7 days. The winner of each question will get $2.50 SBD.

I hope you are getting out to enjoy nature in your neighborhood or other interesting places!


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

This is a potato!
And what you did with it? You ate it! :D

Thanks for your answer! I'll let everyone know the results after the post closes out next weekend. :D

I am sure it was a giant slug!

Or, it could be a potatoe someone dropped.

You have to pick one only one answer, to be entered. Do you have a final answer?

I don't really care about entering. I also know its not a giant slug. Wrong texture. And wrong spot during that time of day (although weirder things have happened)

But, a giant slug, being picked up, eeeewwww...

haha -- maybe this is a slug, we'll see! Thanks!

It looks like a potato and you probably picked it up and put it in your compost basket to decay

Thanks for your answer! I'll let everyone know the results after the post closes out next weekend. :D

Looks like an old baked potato lol

Thanks for your answer! I'll let everyone know the results after the post closes out next weekend. :D

OK :) can't wait to find out what it is :)

It is looks like a mushroom a tipe of champignon and if it is you could cook it with an egg fried.
Best regard @galberto

Thanks for your answers! I'll post the results when the contest is over. :D

I think it is a box turtle. Well, I hope you didn't make turtle soup. But, if you didn't, you brought it home for the kiddos. ;)

Thanks for your answers! I'll post the results when the contest is over. :D

It looks like a baked potato. I think you took it home and composted it.

Thanks for your answers! I'll post the answers when the contest is over. :D

It's a mushroom of some type!🐓

Thanks for your answer! I'll post the results when the contest is over. :D

The obvious is a wrinkled old potato someone tossed... but wrinkled old potatoes usually have "eyes," so next choice would be an older and partially "collapsed" puffball mushroom, "tired," but not quite turned to slime yet.

What did you DO with it? Given you're a forager, took it home and placed on your own patch of grass in hopes the decay would help start your own crop next year.

So it sounds like you are choosing "puffball" as what it is. Thanks for answering and I'll post the results when this one is closed. :D

WOW! Great challenge! At my first glance, I though it should be a potato or stone…. But let’s me guess! It should be something that you can eat and that one should be “mushroom”…. And you cooked it after that, for sure! ;)

Thanks for your answers! I'll post the results when the contest is over. :D

You're welcome! Um! I'm really curious to know the answer! Hopefully, the contest will be over very soon....... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87