Foraging Mystery Contest - Which is the Real Turkey Tail?

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

For @ewkaw's #fungifriday, here's a quick quiz with a $2 SBD prize! Tell me which of these items is a real Turkey Tail.

x DSC06890.jpg

I found all these in my yard the other day. Three are different kinds of mushrooms and one is a feather. I think we can all agree on that! But I see so many folks calling something a Turkey Tail when it really isn't. Do you know your Turkey Tails?

Tell me which of these items is a real Turkey Tail. Choose just one of these items - not two, three, or all four, lol! After this post's payout period ends, I'll pick a random winner from the correct answers. And I'll reveal the real Turkey Tail.

And if you use Turkey Tails in some way, let me know in the comments, too! I really do want to know.

I appreciate and enjoy getting to know people here on Steemit. I hope you are getting out to enjoy nature in your neighborhood or other interesting places.


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

The third one from the right

Are you threatening me!? My bungole will not wait!

¡go back to lake tittycaca cornholio troll!

Lol your bunghole must wait hahahaha

Got it. I'll turn them over next week and show which is which, and why. :D

Certainly we await it

I don't know what a turkey tail is lol, but I do like to learn!

You must have a lot of all these things in your region. All of them! I bet you've seen the Turkey Tails already, maybe without knowing it.

I would normally say 4 but are we talking about mushroom then I will say 3 :)

It was the first mushroom. But the 3rd one is an interesting mushroom, too - the Purplepore Bracket Fungus!

Weird looking things lol :)

Well, im not a fungi expert but I think its the 1st one but the 2nd one looks like the tail of a royal turkey... No idea how u call the blue turkey XD

You guessed right! You sure know a lot of different kinds of turkeys! :D I never thought that some of these mushrooms could look like different kinds of turkeys. Somebody better tell the folks who name the mushrooms! ; )

My grandma used to have turkeys as pets. Its really cool to see animal shapes in plants and fungi

Um! Interesting contest! Let me guess! I think the first one..... I'm curious to know the answer! ;)

Thanks for playing in my contest, @tangmo! I'll let everyone know soon! :D

With my pleasure! I'm looking forward to the answer with much interest! ;)

I will pick the first mushroom on the left side. I make a tea with this mushroom. I never foraged one, but have bought them at farmer's market in NYC. Thanks for sharing your foraging knowledge with us!

Thanks for sharing how you use Turkey Tail mushrooms. Tea is such a good use for them! I like them as a mushroom-flavored chewing gum, too, when I find fresh ones and I'm on a hike. They are one of the mushrooms that's OK to chew on when they are raw, unlike some of the others! I'm glad you can get these in a market, too. That helps people appreciate wild mushrooms and to identify them, too.

Check your wallet! I sent you $1 SBD for sharing how you use Turkey Tail mushrooms. And for letting folks know that these great mushrooms show up in local markets, too! I hope you get to find some Turkey Tails out in the wild sometime! :D

Thank you. I do hope to find turkey tails in the wild one day. I need to study up on them and then go out looking.

Turkey tails are not so hard to identify -- if you look underneath! The keys for the Turkey Tails are that they grow on hardwoods -- the trees that lose their leaves in the winter. They have those bands on the top, with some of the bands being fuzzy or furry. They are thin and leathery. And then, on the underside, they are white, with the little pores. You will find some if you head to a forest in the autumn when it's wet!

I'm voting for all of them...

haha! I think you will be surprised when I reveal the real Turkey Tail! Stay tuned! And thanks for playing!

The first one!?! I have no idea! Do those grow out of trees? I saw something similar not long ago growing about a foot off the ground, and there were several of them right on top of each other, but separated by a few inches. I wonder if these are the same?

There are so many false turkey tails out there! All of these (except the feather) do grow out of trees, in the same arrangement that you saw. The key is to look underneath. The variety of what these little mushrooms can look like underneath is pretty amazing. Once you start looking at their undersides, it's hard to stop, lol.

If we didn't know you were talking about mushrooms this would sound very strange. LOL You are truly a mushroom voyeur. ;)

haha! You, too, can become a mushroom voyeur! ; )

I will try my luck on the 1st one from the left on the picture! I have never seen them before, would like to learn more!

I agree.

Thanks for playing. Stay tuned for the answer next Friday! : )

You could have at least two of these in your region -- they are pretty world-wide. Stay tuned! : )

You were the random winner of all the people that chose the real Turkey Tail mushroom. Congratulations and check your wallet! :D

The fourth one is from a Turkey tail, but the first mushroom design is very similar to the Turkey tail design :)

haha -- Thanks for your entry. Stay tuned for the answer next week! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88