You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foraging Mystery Contest - Which is the Real Turkey Tail?

in #nature7 years ago

I will pick the first mushroom on the left side. I make a tea with this mushroom. I never foraged one, but have bought them at farmer's market in NYC. Thanks for sharing your foraging knowledge with us!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing how you use Turkey Tail mushrooms. Tea is such a good use for them! I like them as a mushroom-flavored chewing gum, too, when I find fresh ones and I'm on a hike. They are one of the mushrooms that's OK to chew on when they are raw, unlike some of the others! I'm glad you can get these in a market, too. That helps people appreciate wild mushrooms and to identify them, too.

Check your wallet! I sent you $1 SBD for sharing how you use Turkey Tail mushrooms. And for letting folks know that these great mushrooms show up in local markets, too! I hope you get to find some Turkey Tails out in the wild sometime! :D

Thank you. I do hope to find turkey tails in the wild one day. I need to study up on them and then go out looking.

Turkey tails are not so hard to identify -- if you look underneath! The keys for the Turkey Tails are that they grow on hardwoods -- the trees that lose their leaves in the winter. They have those bands on the top, with some of the bands being fuzzy or furry. They are thin and leathery. And then, on the underside, they are white, with the little pores. You will find some if you head to a forest in the autumn when it's wet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69253.24
ETH 2750.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74