Fall Harvest - Peppers, Peppers and More Peppers

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Fall has arrived, and with it the heat of Summer is finally fading in Kansas. For now we get to enjoy the warm days and cool nights. Time to make one of the last few passes through the garden and collect what bounty it still has to offer. Two varieties of tomatoes and many varieties of peppers are all that are left to pick.

20170927_202538.jpg

State of The Garden

The tomato plants, in the back, are almost finished producing. Only a few dozen Supersweet 100 tomatoes and a couple small Better Boys are still on the vine.

The pepper plants, in the foreground, are still producing peppers at an astounding rate. I expect we will still be picking peppers well into October if the weather stays warm and we don't get an early frost. Other than the Green Bell Peppers, we have the little Sweet Red Peppers, Sweet Yellow Peppers and Banana Peppers.

20170928_121047.jpg

20170928_121041.jpg

That's about all that's left. The zucchini vines have all died, so after we eat the last zucchini in the pantry, there will be no more home grown until next year. The last few onions were picked last week and are awaiting their culinary fate.

Until next time...

Sort:  

Good looking crop of peppers. Same some for me.

I will always save some for you.

Good read and good looking garden, enjoyed it.

Delicious looking spread! Time to make some salsa.

I've never tried making salsa, but it might be time with all these peppers coming in the house.

Well done, it's very healthy growing such a colorful variety.

That's true, nutritionists recommend a diet with fruits and vegetables in a variety of colors. The more intense the color the better.

harvesting in home garden is make sure that you are getting fresh and healthy vegetable, i like peppers, thanks for sharing.

And the best tasting. That is what makes it all worth while.

wow you had an amazing harvest looks really cool loved the garden pics that's awesome :D

Thank you, it has definitely been a great year for peppers.

Great harvest, I wish I could have a garden like yours, Fresh veggies and fruit is the best there is, and you know for sure there is nothing chemical sprayed on

The amount of flavor in tomatoes picked fresh and fully ripe vs bought in the store, there is no comparison. And knowing that they are chemical and GMO free is so reassuring when putting them on the table for your family to enjoy.

Nice harvest. They look amazing and healthy. Looks like you took good care of them (: also props for growing your own food. I wish I lived in a house where I could do the same.

Thank you. I do enjoy being able to have some control over my families food source, even if it is only a tiny bit of it.

That is my ideal. To be able to take care of myself (food wise), except for meat(wouldn't be able to get used to killing animals), to take care of myself and not rely on supermarket GMO food.

I agree, I'm not much for hunting, so I'll stick to the butcher shop for meat.

Exactly, at the butchers the dirty work is all done so I can enjoy my meat properly. Also thanks for the kind upvotes but you can get a 120% return on them at steemfollower instead of giving them to me. I just found out about this and it is amazing. If you need more info check my blog I did a post about it today.

Great article thanks for sharing ...!!

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Please upload more photos of these...^_^ would really appreciate it. We have a farm back in my hometown and I remember my mom used to have these.

Enjoyed it!
Thanks for sharing!

Upvoted!

Thanks, I'm glad you like the photos and that they evoked pleasant memories for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70