You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To geotag, or not to geotag?

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

If it weren't for the geotag, phone apps, internet, it is hard to imagine all the awesome places I would have never known about or visited. Selfishly, I am about the geotag. I find all sorts of cool places off Instagram from all over the globe. I find it enriching and fascinating. Not that I'll be able to visit all the places. It was very helpful for the geotags I found on a trip out to Utah and the Tetons and find sweet (specifically bouldering) places I wouldn't have found otherwise. It seems those that are in for the "tourist experience" tend not to make to far past the parking lot or to the most popular places (like Arches National Park, wow yuck, so many people on a Tuesday 9am). While, the dedicated go the distance. And the dedicated are often the ones who respect the are and keep it preserved.

Sort:  

My thoughts exactly! It's like comparing Yosemite Valley to JUST outside of the valley on any hiking trail - the humans just seem to disappear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43