My phobia

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

In the year 2014 my husband and I visited New Orleans in Louisiana and when you are in such an area it is not possible not to go on Swamp tour 😬

A967A4E0-1E66-4D90-9D26-2311D7060E58.jpeg

I have to admit that I was scared to death 😰 I had phobia from crocodiles since I was a little girl. I couldn’t look at them even if they were just on little postcards or something. I didn’t know what will happen to me ... maybe I will stop breathing (it wouldn’t be the first time), freak out, or maybe lose my consciousness 😳

91C961B8-71B2-4245-ADF3-DD18000DE655.jpeg

And you know what happened? First we met this guy, the guide ...

75F3999B-C7AA-4E2A-BF93-6F2A37F52DB2.jpeg

Our guide was passionate natural scientist who loves these creatures very much. He explained to us the difference between crocodiles and alligators. He introduced to us this “little girl” as he said. She was a little alligator. She was so little, gentle and scared 😦 And you will not believe me, I hold her in my arms too ...

7B859AB1-089C-4EA8-A97E-751E34507F56.png

I have to admit that this guy helped me so much to confront my phobia in a gentle way. When I looked at her scared and curious eyes, and felt her warm skin, my fear and pressure in my chest slowly disappeared.

F0A07ED1-D12F-4336-959A-53929BFB08BE.png

I’m very happy that my @nedy had a privilege to fulfill his dreams, hold this little wild alligator because he adores these creatures since he was a boy ... and now he observed them in nature ... real wild creatures ...
Could you find an alligator on the trunk?

EB81EFBE-9B04-4C5F-BED4-4536A8187307.jpeg

After a while when we went deeper in swamp area the guide started to call the alligators ...
I couldn’t believe my eyes ... they started to swim around the boat and my fear started to grow again because they were much bigger than our “little girl” ...

DC5FB76F-BAB9-4C0C-9329-4B70FECCD2AF.jpeg

The guide was so calm and he talked with them as they were his house pets. I just speechlessly observed all that was happening and I calmed down. I think that that was a very good therapy for me to overcome my phobia ...

6C0D03D7-9A4D-4C3F-8F85-3F88241AB0F4.jpeg

I couldn’t believe my eyes ...

BEF32693-8D9F-4DC6-AC1F-9D3291B8FB65.jpeg

And now as you can see I can look at them and even respectfully observe them from the distance 😁

Now you will ask me, why I wrote this post after all these years. Because two of my steemit friends somehow encouraged me to do so. @crazy-andy by his nice photo of hippopotamus and all the answers to my questions and @oldtimer by his kind encouragement that I should post more 😉

Sort:  

Wow, wow, wow!! I definitely won't forget the experience! Thanks for making a post about the trip and little creatures with beautiful sets of teeth :)

Hi @gaja, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @crazyandy doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @crazy-andy ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Congratulations @gaja! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86