Conde' Nest?

in #nature5 years ago

We have not reached Alfred Hitchcock proportions yet, but this place is going to the birds!


Photos taken with my Samsung Luna Pro cell phone
20190617_144216 (2).jpg
Those are turds, not eggs



The little robin who lived over the chicken pen is gone. We have a bunch of starlings and magpies around here, I think they are as much to blame as me and my chickens but it is still sad. She was very young looking, I think maybe she did not attract a mate in time? Whatever happened, it is absolutely amazing to see her little nest. The inside is so smooth, it is like pottery. The outside is rough and pokey sticks, but this home is quality craftsmanship on the interior!


20190617_150515 (2)_LI.jpg
The sparrows picked a better location.

There is a little pocket where the plastic had started to come down right near the window in the dome. There are at least two babies in there making a ruckus, but I cannot see inside that little nest at all. The momma bird gets all paranoid when I am working in the yard, she will sit on the outside of the window until I turn my back and then she will duck inside... as if I did not know there was a nest in there lol!


20190616_124011 (2).jpg
When you get drunk and build a nest?

I am not 100% sure who did this. They started to put a nest here a week or so ago and I pulled it down before they had more than a couple twigs up there. I TOLD them then "This is a TERRIBLE spot for a nest! Not only will I be in and out that door all the time, but when the wind comes a-howling it is going to blow right off there." They ignored my warning and when I left town for ONE DAY they built it right back in the same spot. I guess we shall see how this turns out. I think it was a little pair of wrens I saw working on it, but I thought wrens were much tidier nest makers than this. I will try to get a closer look when they begin dive-bombing me for using my own door...

Sort:  

We had a little nest in one of the spruces on the north side of our house. I think they were bluebirds, which Marek showed me a few weeks back, chirping away and hoping for mom to return with some food.

Now the nest is empty, and has been since just a few days later . . . too little time for them to fledge. Damn.

The nest was still perfect, so I'm thinking perhaps a snake, or a larger bird.

Yeah, the real world an be a little brutal.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wonderful stuff, my friend. Put a big smile on my face. And I know you deserve all of your feathered friends, lol. Enjoy the lovely company.

Those goofy birds that piled up the trash over the door have moved on already. As predicted, the winds came a-howling yesterday and their nest got blown all across the gutter. Hopefully they have time to build a new one - somewhere else!
OK, I had literally JUST hit "post" when I heard them back up there rebuilding... I guess that is what you call a bird-brain?

We have a ladder hung up on the deck. A robin built a next on the step below the top one. She was a bit flighty until she had the eggs in. No you really have to make noise or she just ignores us. I’ll post a picture tomorrow.

Yeah, I am a little worried that something got to our little robin. I have not seen her at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42