Into the WoodssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

The mushroom season is almost upon us (well technically you can find them all year round but most of the really good ones are from late summer to the first frost)


The summer in Denmark has been unusually wet , not the best mushroom weather and thus I havent really seen that many mushrooms this year. Part of the reason was that I was travelling to Japan this year and thus didnt get to join in on the chanterelle hunting in june and july. The other reason is that the Boletes that I favour dont like to much rain.

It makes them vulnerable to other types of fungus like this Bay bolete (brunstokket rørhat in danish) which I saw yesterday. all overgrown with white mold.
Some of the others have fared better. I saw a lot of Brittlegills, but none that are on my plus-list

these are probably ochre brittlegills, but there are others that look alot like them, so it might be another kind. I did find one that are very much on my list.

a dotted stem bolete or possibly a lurid bolete (punktstokket indigorørhat in danish , or possibly netstokket). they are very good and quite easy to dry. That way I can have dried mushrooms all winter and spring until I can start collecting again in the summer.
The last one is absolutely NOT on the plus-list, but it is a welcome sight anyway.

The fly agaric (rød fluesvamp in danish) is poisonous ( although rarely fatal) and the reason why I like them is, that they favour the same places as the Penny Bun ( Karl Johan in danish) I didnt see any of them on this trip but I wasnt really out to collect. this was more of a scouting mission.
If we can just get a few days of nice weather I might give it a shot though.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

Kender du nogle gode steder hvor man kan finde blomkålssvamp evilhippie? De begynder at finde frem til overfladen om et par uger og jeg må have!

Hm kommer an på hvor i landet du er. jeg har mest haft held til at finde dem i thy. Som regel i åben nåleskov. jeg bor selv på midtsjælland nær bidstrupskovene og der har jeg, så vidt jeg husker ikke fundet dem, selvom jeg er sikker på de er der.

@evilhippie nice post. They seem to grow well at the dam by my parents house but I've always been too scared to pick in case I get a bad one. I have some friends that do and they've always been fine. Do you see many poisonous onse on your trail?

thanks. yes there are plenty of poisonous ones. most notably the one called destroying angel in English. i love the poetic English names . in danish it goes by the more pragmatic "hvid fluesvamp" which translates to white fly mushroom. It is important to be absolutely sure what you are doing when collecting anything in nature. I go by the rule that if i am 99 percent certain then it's not enough

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01