A flower: Orange Saffron aka. Crocus sativus

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

A symbol of abundance, fairy-tale luxury and hope. But at the same time the fragility of life and short-term beauty, which in the silk flowers hide the treasure.

With its shiny colors, which are showing through the snow, it is where it grows, a symbol of spring and awakened life. The golden yellow flowers of spring saffron with their color mean light, enlightenment, love and wealth.

20180320_143621.jpg

In any case, it should not be confused with the real saffron that blooms in the autumn and was a symbol of wealth. In China and India, it was used for coloring silk, and in the Middle East, it was appreciated as spice and aphrodisiac.

The Slovenian word saffron originates from the Arabic "zafran", which means yellow. Even the English name has just been adopted (saffron), the same applies to many other European, African and Asian languages, which reveals how important this raw material was and how closely the then world was.

20180320_143603.jpg

Today, like thousands of years ago, the work (collecting) is done manually. For a kilogram of this spice, it should be harvested from 150,000 to 200,000 flowers! Saffron is definitely rightly expensive as a saffron.

I gathered some of the information from the book from Andrej Seliskar and Tone Wraber, and photos for @juliank's #macrophotography contest I made myself with my Samsung A5.

Sort:  

It gives a great look to the dishes in which it is used!

Saffron isn't often used in Slovenian cuisine, but I agree with you-its color is amazing.

This flower is very good to me to see this flower is not available in our country. I have done a lot of research on this flower and found that this flower is very popular....

Really? Here in Slovenia, we have plenty purple ones growing freely on the fields. But this one from the photo is growing in our garden.

Yeah i want to growing up this flower on my country 🌻

Really, I can provide you with first quality seeds of the Saffron from Mediterranean region!

Thank you. I appreciate every reader I have.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 17:47:28
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 337.41/400.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 42
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.18 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Flowers are beautiful companions. May you succeed in this steemit

Thanks... You too.

great .. thanks for sharing knowledge about saffron. In addition to good information, your photos are also good, though using samrtphone. Greetings

Thanks. Believe it or not, sometimes my phone is making better quality photos than my camera.😉

really .. occasionally .. when the light is very precise, using a smartphone also produces a good picture, let alone a smartphone is now very sophisticated

I had forgotten that saffron came from crocuses @emmamia. another thing remembered from being on Steemit. 😊

Your crocuses seem to have survived the snow very well. We had a little bit of snow on Sunday and when I was out and about photographing I couldn't find any crocuses as nice as yours to photograph. The all look decimated. Maybe it was the wind rather than the snow.

Lovely photographs. 😊

Your welcome. Yes, they are quite tough. I was also surprised seeing them standing firmly up. I think that temperatures around zero in the night and about 5°C in the afternoon are helping them to survive. Also, this ones are decorative and growing in our garden. So I believe they are just tougher than the ones growing on fields.

This is absolutely great post

Very colorful flower i appreciate @emmamia thanks for sharing

And thank you for coming around.

You welcome @emmamia
keep :)

I didn't know all that about saffron!! I'm not even sure I've had it in a recipe....if I did, I wasn't aware!!

I love the early spring flowers - especially those that poke out through the snow. Happy yellows are such a promise of spring!

Indeed, they are quite a blessing for our eyes after all this snow, and the white color we had this season. Although, I'm not really complaining about it.

About the saffron as a spice... I never used it, but I saw many cooking shows on TV where they used it. I'm still sticking way too much to the regular recipes and cuisine. Maybe someday I will have the opportunity to try it... But not quite jet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66