TODAY IS NATIONAL METEOR WATCH DAY!

in #nature6 years ago


 

Seperator line

I celebrate life every day! Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today I invite you to celebrate the night sky and nature’s fireworks, meteor showers. Gazing at the stars at night, sparks awe and wonder of the universe and I realize I’m part of something much larger than I ever imagined. I take childish delight at the sight of a shooting star (another name for meteor. )

 

SKY AT DUSK WITH A SHOOTING STAR

Image source


NATURE'S FIREWORKS


The night sky is a cosmic canvas,
I can view from my home planet.


In the darkness of night,
the stars shine bright.

I see a shooting star,
I wonder if it’s near or far.

As it crosses the sky,
visible to my eye,

Is a glowing streak,
adding to the mystique.

I am in a state of awe,
it’s a meteor I saw.

As I delight in nature’s fireworks,
I ponder the vastness of the universe.

I realize my part is small,
in the complexity of it all.

In the moment I feel connected,
and the world feels less hectic.

I’ll play my part well,
on the past I won’t dwell.

I know the future is bright,
I realize in the dark of night.

Thanks to nature’s fireworks,
my thinking, I’ll rework.

I’ll start with an attitude,
of awe and gratitude.

 
Photograher taking pictures of a meteor shower.

Image source

Seperator line

While it's possible to spot a meteor on any night. You can increase your chances of seeing a meteor shower if you know when the Earth pass through dust and debris left from comets. The Earth will be passing through the path of the Comet Swift-Tuttle's orbit from July 17 to Aug. 24, this year. The peak nights for viewing will be the nights of August 11-12 and August 12-13, You can learn more about the Perseid Meteor Shower 2018: When, Where & How to See It, by clicking here.

Seperator line

Meteor Showers 101 | National Geographic- A great video that explains, meteors and meteor showers.

Video source
 

Real Meteor Shower - Amazing footage of a meteor shower.

Sort:  

Nice poem about Nature's Fireworks!

Thank you, nature offers tons of special effects. One just needs to take a moment to notice.

I've probably only seen a shooting star twice in my life let alone a meteor shower which I have never seen except now courtesy of your video. Thanks for sharing.

Maybe I'm just not the outdoor type, preferring to read or watch tv at nights. Probably why I don't see shooting or falling stars that much. I should spend a little more time outdoors and enjoy nature's wonders.

Some areas are better for viewing the meteor showers. You do need to spend some time outdoors in the evening to see them. It takes a while for your eyes to adjust to the dark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50