For the Birds

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

My husband is a good, kind man with a soft spot in his heart for all animals. His was a military family that moved often, sometimes overseas, and he wasn't allowed to have pets when he was growing up. I love animals too but our living and working situation didn't permit them. But oh the birds!

For the longest time I didn't know that he had a belief (superstition?) that if he fed the wild birds that it would bring him good luck. My own, more practical, opinion was that if you feed a wild creature you'd better be prepared to keep on feeding them from then on.

So we reached a compromise – a bird feeder. And a stockpile of 20 lbs of birdseed. I knew very well what would happen, but he was surprised at how quickly the news spread in the bird world about the free eats at our house. A full feeder would be emptied in less than a day!

01 bird-feeder.jpg

And it wasn't like it was attracting anything exotic. Sparrows, mockingbirds, a few finches, mourning doves, and an occasional scrub jay who could empty the feeder all by himself. Not by what he ate but what he scattered on the ground. Ah yes, the seeds on the ground which remained uneaten sprouting up all over the yard. Who does the weeding? Yes, that would be me.

02 sparrow_ed.jpg

Another round of 20 lbs of birdseed and we had to have a little talk. I shared my opinion that he was overdoing things. That soon the birds would be too fat to fly. And seriously, the weeds – no I didn't intend to have a birdseed farm thank you very much. Let's give the little birdies a chance to clean up the scattered seed, shall we?

So, he pretends that he only fills the feeder once a week and I pretend not to notice when he sneaks them an extra serving now and then. For luck.

03 sparrows-_ed.jpg

Sort:  

I wrote this on a whim without telling my husband I was going to share it. Later I fessed up and read it to him -- he laughed and laughed. He told me, "You should tell them the truth!" "What do you mean?" "It was 120 pounds of birdseed, there are millions of birds, and they aren't getting fat, they are fat!"
Yep, that's my guy.

LOL! Greatness, hes a good sport!

He sure is. :-)

Hey there! You were featured in the @newbieresteemday's weekly #MinnowMondays post. Feel free to check it out here

Lol! You need some visiting quail too, to clean the spillage up! 😆

Quail would be awesome!

Lol funny I imagine those birds becoming too fat to fly :D That looks so cute though you always have lots of guests for that seed party.

I discovered your post through @amariespeaks' Minnow Mondays :)

They might not be quite that fat but they're definitely in the waddling stage. :-)

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Haha! Thats great! Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you, that's so nice of you! I just now told my husband and he was very impressed that I'm in your top 10. He thinks it reflects well on him. :-}

You're welcome! Lol it definiely does reflect well on him! 😉

You are totally enjoying this. Don't deny it!!
give thanks for being blessed, people don't see these priceless moments of joy- let alone experience. Keep steeming

What can I say? He's so cute when he thinks he's sneaking out to feed the birds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43