Kenrokuen Gardens Kanazawa

in #nature7 years ago

Amazing garden in Kanazawa Japan. We visited a few weeks ago on holiday, it is one of the absolutely most wonderful gardens i have ever seen. It has huge lakes and ponds of water that feed into one another and covers around 30 acres.
DSC_0732.JPG
Kotojitoro Lantern built on the edge of a huge lake is quite unique due to being built on 2 legs rather than one as all other Japanese lanterns are built. It is over 2 meters tall and is a iconic symbol of the Garden complex.
DSC_0722.JPG
Originally built as outer gardens for Kanazawa Catle they took nearly 200 years to construct.
DSC_0744.JPG

Kenrokuen translated means 'Garden of the six Sublimities' referring to spaciousness, seclusion, artificiality, antiquity, abundant water and wide views. Amazingly the water is supplied from the cities river about 3 miles away using an incredibly advanced system that brings the water uphill and was built in the early 1600's. Hisagoike Pond has a small waterfall and the drop in elevation powers a fountain. When you think about the engineering involved it is astounding.
DSC_0721.JPG
DSC_0719.JPG This huge pine named Karasaki was planted from a seed in the 1600s and hangs far out over the lake using bamboo stilts to suspend it. The stilts also serve as protection for the trees in winter when the weight of snow could snap the shaped branches.
DSC_0723.JPG
There is a plum tree garden, Cherry Blossom garden and many bridges and sculptures as well. So many features over such a large area it is one of the top 3 gardens in Japan.
DSC_0728.JPG
DSC_0729.JPG
Many thanks for enjoying my trip to Kenrokuen Garden and please resteem, follow and upvote.

Sort:  

I have also been to there, I love the tranquility of the garden. But I love the food there more xD There is a fish market there and the sashimi rice was exceptionally good. I wish I can go back there and taste the fatty fish again!!!

awesome -that is great you know Kanazawa - my wife is Japanese -- i love that fish market and had some incredible nigiri there.

Wonderful. Ancient Japanese culture, taming the nature in a good way.

So not like western civilization which is fighting the nature.

thnx very much for checking out my blog

Yo are welcome. Gladly.

I do love the greenery and how serene the place looks!

thanks for enjoying Alvin

I would love to visit some of the gardens in Japan, thank you for share the pictures :-)

thanx very much and i hope you can go to Japan sometime

Hello, Taica here. I am doing the selection of the most underrated posts and share it with my followers and the Steem community. I think that there is too much good content on Steemit which remains overlooked everyday and lost in the blockchain.

Here you can see my latest report containing your post, which I’ve also upvoted.

https://steemit.com/chainbb-general/@taica/taicas-selection-9-share-moments-steem-life

If you like this post you can say thank you by upvoting and following me.

All the best @taica

thanks so much for posting on chainbb - well done

You are welcome :)

What can be more beautiful than nature and human culture combined! Great post!

thnx i follow you now and appreciate your comment

Really cool post about the Kenrouken garden. Japanese gardens have a reputation for being well laid out and serene places. Your pictures demonstrate that. Good work, Thanks . Following you

thankyou so very much for your comment and time in reading - i am super happy we are connected -David

Same here.

Did you participate and support the minnows contest - Would really value your support to resteem and spread the word. Thanks
May I make a request - When you have time, please do take a look at my blog where I tried my hand at writing - a chain of thoughts on solitude - inspired by my wildlife picture instead of just putting the picture. Thanks
https://steemit.com/life/@vm2904/solitude-not-lonliness-a-boon-not-a-bane

Also - if you dont mind please participate in this contest for supporting minnows - https://steemit.com/life/@vm2904/caption-contest-1-wildlife-awareness-please-participate-and-support

very happy too and will get onto that tomorrow night -- it is late here in Sydney and i have to hit bed and work tomorrow -- i am more than keen and will do as you asked -- it all helps me to get involved and feel the connection growing with good people around me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64