Daily Nature Fix: The Golden Dunes of Mesquite Flat. (Original Photos)

in #nature8 years ago

     Hello fellow nature enthusiast.  Today's daily nature fix is about some classic-looking sand dunes found in Death Valley National Park.  They are the Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes:

      Due to them being so classic-looking (and their ease of access from the road), the Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes have been the filming location of many films including Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope.  The scene where R2D2 and C3PO were wandering lost through the druid dunes was filmed here.  Pretty cool huh??

  ^^^ I took this photo on my hike up to the ridge.

   Much of the fine sands that make up these dunes are quartz and likely come from the Cottonwood Mountains to the north of this location, and began as much larger rocks long ago.  Erosion and wind patterns wear the rock down and converge at several locations within the park, depositing and shaping these dunes.

     Seeing these dunes was kind of surprising and a learning experience for me.  These were the first real sand dunes I ever saw (not many in Pennsylvania!), and I always pictured places that have them to just be rolling sand in every direction for as far as the eye can see; like you'd see on TV or movies.  That's not the case, it turns out.  As you can see in the background of the photo above, almost all of Death Valley is a rocky, rubble-filled wasteland.  Not sandy.... just rock, mountains, boulders, canyons, etc.   The several locations of sand dunes in the park look pretty out of place, to be honest.  It really looks like someone took a few thousand truck loads of play sand and dumped them in various spots.  Jagged rock here, jagged rock there, then a little spot with smooth, wavy piles of sand.   Here's another example where you can see what I'm describing a bit better; these are different dunes called "Panamint Dunes"

^^^Panamint Dunes from about 2 miles away.  See what I mean? Out of place looking...

    I guess the horizon-to-horizon type of sandy desert dunes are found in places like Nambia and other parts of the Sahara. 

    Aaaaaaanyway, I notice I used the word "little" when talking about the Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes in the previous paragraph.  I should clarify... these dunes are no joke.  The largest of it's dunes is called "Star Dune" and is around 150 feet deep.  To put that another way, you can bury a 15 story building in it!  Here's another photo to puts the dunes into scale a bit more:

^^^Notice the little person in the center of the photo??

     Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Sort:  

Very nice :-)

Sand is weird huh? There are massive sand dunes in Peru, the size of small mountains. Where did all the sand come from?

And for your dunes, are they small because the sand was blown away, or are they small because they are young and still growing?

Thank you. I'm not a geologist or anything, but I think most of the mountain ranges on the US west coast are relatively young, leading me to believe these sand dunes are probably small and growing. As the mountains wear down, I'd imagine these dunes will expand a great deal. I'd love to see massive ones! Death Valley does have some big ones, but they aren't easily accessible. The Eureka Dunes are some 3 miles long and 1 mile wide and over 700 feet tall. I do plan on visiting them one day. :)

Check this out. This is the Atacama desert in Peru / Chile. I drove through the desert in 2000 and it is just the most amazing place.

Love it, upvoted! Nature is awesome!!! Sunny regards from Canary Islands :-)

Thank you! Would love to visit your homeland.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65