You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Nature Fix: The Golden Dunes of Mesquite Flat. (Original Photos)

in #nature8 years ago

Very nice :-)

Sand is weird huh? There are massive sand dunes in Peru, the size of small mountains. Where did all the sand come from?

And for your dunes, are they small because the sand was blown away, or are they small because they are young and still growing?

Sort:  

Thank you. I'm not a geologist or anything, but I think most of the mountain ranges on the US west coast are relatively young, leading me to believe these sand dunes are probably small and growing. As the mountains wear down, I'd imagine these dunes will expand a great deal. I'd love to see massive ones! Death Valley does have some big ones, but they aren't easily accessible. The Eureka Dunes are some 3 miles long and 1 mile wide and over 700 feet tall. I do plan on visiting them one day. :)

Check this out. This is the Atacama desert in Peru / Chile. I drove through the desert in 2000 and it is just the most amazing place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48