Daily Nature Fix: Red Fox Mom & Babies! (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hello, friends. Man, what a bullshit week it has been for me. You may have noticed I've been gone for the whole week. Lots of work related things are backing up on me and past deadlines, I was feeling pretty sickly for a few days, and most annoying: my computer shit the bed on me like 5 days ago. It died. Apparently, the MacBook pros built around the time of mine have this common problem where the graphics card craps out. I worked on it for HOURS today... like 10 hours for real. I eventually got it working by using a Linux boot disk and entering a bunch of code. Shit that I really have no idea what it is. The good news is that it's working... for now. It's good to be back in the Steemit universe. I've missed it.
Anyway, tonight's Daily Nature Fix is a few photos I took just yesterday, on Mother's Day... which is fitting. I was in my workshop and through the one window I saw some kind of orange/brown thing moving around in the distance. I stepped out and got a closer look with some binoculars.
FoxFam00a.jpg
A family of red foxes! A mom and three small pups. Well, I assume it was the mom anyway. Could be the dad. Either way, it was cool to see. I ran up to the house and grabbed the Nikon and a telephoto lens to get a few photos. The little critters were like 200 feet away, so zoomed all the way in the photos ended up pretty blurry. You get the idea though.
FoxFam00b.jpg
^^^This was around 40 minutes later. A seemingly pregnant doe walked by the meadow and stopped to look at me. There were two of the little fox pups sitting on the rock wall in the background. I tried to get them all in focus, but I don't know how to use the camera all that much. lol You can see them though.


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Fabulous!! I haven't seen a fox all year, and they used to come through quite regularly. They are the best at keeping the rabbit population under control. And deer. We are not seeing many, and are wondering if it because we have a new neighbor with dog. Who knows, but I miss them! Lucky you to see those little guys!

My neighbor, who is a real outdoorsy hunter type, told me that coyotes do a number on fox populations. Have you seen any of them around??

That is possible, but I have never seen or heard any here. I have always suspected that it was too wooded for them. They are not far away though, in the farm areas.

Great to see! Wherabout was this? I recently met a beaver building his damn, but it was too dark to take good pictures.

These photos are form central Pennsylvania. I love beavers and seeing their architecture. I've never gotten to see them in the actual building process though. That's a cool experience!

Awwwww man... isn’t work just the shits? Not enough time to do the things we truly enjoy. But it looks like you got to have a moment there. Awesome shots!

The shits it is. I need to figure out some way to be independently wealthy without the whole ‘work’ part.

Yes, indeed. I guess work is just a part of life, but it sure would be nice to focus on our passions. Keep on steemin’ and maybe one day those dreams will be a reality ;) Love seeing your posts!

What a great view from your workshop window!
I hope you have a better week now.

Thanks! Its Monday - the beginning to a new week. Hopefully better than the last!

Sorry to hear you are having computer problems, on the other hand, how nice to have visitors like yours 😉

My animal friends certainly do brighten my day!

The most beautiful thing one can have.

Aww my god, such darlings... I stumble upon deer and foxes sometimes on our hikes but usually at twilight when light is too dim.. Glad to see your computer is better

Are beautiful! @customnature
She is looking at you because she wants to look good for the photo!
There is a great place behind you, that you work?

And look great, she did! I work at home where I have a wood shop. Behind the shop is a few hundred acres of woods.

Hundred acres of woods? @customnature You have a great and nice garden then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94