Daily Nature Fix: Powder-Blue Sea Water. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Good evening folks. For tonight's Daily Nature Fix, we're going to have one of my favorite things: blue water. This won't come as a surprise to most of my longtime followers, as I've carried on about it many times before. I love seeing blue in nature. Aside from the sky, it's a color I pretty much never saw in the natural world for the first 25ish years of my life. Living in the middle of Pennsylvania, none of the water we see is blue. It's aways a cloudy brownish green due to the algae, mud, and well... mining pollution. Even the beaches on the east coast have greenish, cloudy water. That's a far cry from the ocean water we saw off the coast of the Portuguese archipelago known as the Azores!
PowderBlueWater00a.jpg
I've seen blue water many times since I began traveling, but most of the time its a deep, rich, royal blue. This was the first time I've seen it look like a baby blue color (aside from glacial water). I'm assuming it looked lighter because there was so much micro air bubbles within the water from the choppy waves that were crashing in to the black volcanic rock.
PowderBlueWater00b.jpg
Regardless of the difference in colors, it was surely beautiful to see. Actually, not far from where I took these photos, there was an area where hot, volcano-heated water leaked through the cracks and we swam in a lukewarm section of the sea!
PowderBlueWater00c.jpg

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Also! Don't forget to check out the Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest that I'm running. Do you like coming across abandoned stuff?? Here's the link to the contest: https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@customnature/new-contest-abandoned-shit-weekly-30sbd-prize-pool-aswcontest Take a look at it's tag to see some cool stuff that's already being posted. :)

Sort:  

Oh do I understand your love of Blue water! I live halfway between the muddy Mississippi and Lake Michigan (which , to be fair, can often look blue when it is reflecting a blue sky) But I saw a photo in a magazine 30 years ago of the water in Belize and had to go see for myself if any water could possibly be that color! I was not disappointed!

Jealous! Did you see that blue hole in the water?? I think that was in Belize, anyway?

Flew over it in a small plane with the windows open!

I love these kind of pictures when the waves crashed the rocks. It is somehow so calming to me. I'd love to see more of these on your future posts, please :)

Will do! I even have videos and slo-motion clips. :)

Oh awesome!!

wow..It's beautiful. your post is such a benefited by the people who love nature....

Glad you enjoyed it!

thank you very much for sharing us

I just recently came from a trip and we have visited a rocky cliff facing the pacific. The water is blue and refreshing to the eye :)

I love to see that refreshing, blue water. Where did you go?

Its in an island in Mindanao, Philippines. The island's name is Cabgan (named after a cavae full of bats which is only accessible during low tides)

The place is called by the locals "westlife" because according to them, its similar to the cliff of a westlife video. But I like to call the the Devil's Cliff since the waves are very big and it smashes so loud :D

deets

Boy, that's some beautiful water! It looks just like the place in my photos, but with a bit more green on the shore.

The ocean is so beautiful, and also large waves suitable for surfing.
Thank you for sharing the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87