Daily Nature Fix: Creepy Ireland. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Good evening, Steemit world. I decided to share a few photos of somewhat creepy subjects found on our trip to Ireland last year. Maybe I'm in a dismal mood from the crypto crash that's been going on the last few hours? I dunno. Anyway, it's late... lets begin!

CreepIreland00e.jpg
Starting off strong with this photo. In full disclosure, I'm not 100% sure if Kylene or myself snapped this one. Either way, it was done with an iPhone 6 which we both have, and it was a small graveyard along the road in the western part of the country. I didn't get a name for it, but it was south of Galway.

CreepIreland00b.jpg
This placard was found on the face of a tiny well housing. Now, I wouldn't normally find a well to be creepy, but this was a holy well of some sort and there were jesus and mary figurines all over the place. Outside it, inside it, on top of it. Inside it was especially cluttered with old, religious figurines in disarray. THAT kind of stuff is indeed creepy, in my book. The date scribed into the lower right of the plaque appears to read "1634"

CreepIreland00a.jpg
Here's a wider shot of the well. That tree with reddish foliage in the upper center is actually growing right out of the well, through a hole in the center of the roof. And in that tree?? You guessed it: a big ole state up of Mary lashed to it. Creepy.

CreepIreland00d.jpg
This is a shot of a gothic style catholic church that stands near Kylemore Abbey. It was built in 1881 and originally served to honor the grieving property owner's wife, as she died after coming down with dysentery while on vacation in Egypt a few years prior to the church's construction. The church looked especially eerie on the blustery overcast day that we visited.

CreepIreland00c.jpg
This is a grave that was found right in the middle of the Rosserk Friary, or I should say the ruins of the Rosserk Friary. This was an awesome location and we just sort of happened upon it after seeing a small sign and driving around the area. The friary was built in 1440. 1440!! I couldn't make out any of the lettering on the headstone. I wish I could have.

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

It seems...its haunted....

I want to visit Ireland one day. Especially Northern Ireland. I have wanted to see the Giant's causeway for many years. It is quite creepy too.

I just posted some photos from Giants Causeway! Here it is if you want to see it: fhttps://steemit.com/nature/@customnature/daily-nature-fix-40-000-basalt-columns-original-photos

Awesome! Thank you.

There’s something about old creepy cemeteries that has always fascinated me. These are really cool shots and especially great because they are in Ireland 😀

iceland most beautiful!i think i could visit and these those placeces which look stunning!thanks for these beautiful places customnature!

The couple on my engagement session this evening said they're going to Ireland on their honeymoon and I thought of you and Kylene! I also felt sorta in the know thanks to you two. Anytime seeming-personal items are found some place it creeps me out. I recently found a small tupper-ware with someone's school picture, little toys, marbles, and hair ties hidden under a nature lookout. It really creeped me out. I think the picture did it.

Me too! That kind of stuff is so eerie. lol I want to go to that creepy doll-covered island in Mexico. You should work that into your trip!

The climate adds to the eerieness of the place. I see an irony at play here, a creepy church. Fantastic indeed.

It's hard as an American to imagine stone structures that old.
I guess they don't make 'em like they used to...

I sat the same thing every time I come back to the US from Europe. In the US we pretty much tear down and rebuild.

wow very cool photo effect i really like

Really Amazing.

I love how you composed the first shot with the sun behind the grave stone. Very well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95