The Art of Bonsai

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

In a society in which time is shredded in milliseconds "thanks" to technological progress, the bonsai allows us to return to our roots, to some of our fundamental values, in short to the harmony between us and nature which, no matter how much we do, always manages to surpass us. (Oscar Roncari)

We have all been struck by these small and leafy trees at some point as a result of this millenary art of creating a tree in a pot. I, like succulent plants, love them, but I have had no luck with them, I have had 3 in different stages of my life and because of ignorance, I did not know how to take care of them. I just witnessed a presentation about them, learned a few things and was excited to do the workshop on initiation and be able to model my own Bonsai.


The exhibition

The purpose of this art is to create a tree in a pot, providing the necessary care to develop like a wild tree, but in smaller dimensions. Particulating the art of Bonsai is a relaxing and rewarding activity in many ways, in ancient times it was restricted to the noblest classes, however its secrets have spread from the east to the west and today we have the tools to get down to work and dive into this beautiful practice.

Let your tree speak of the ephemeral and of eternity, of what we will bequeath when we are gone. Let me talk about a fragile little moment of happiness. Let him explain the scars on his trunk, caused by the conditions of his past life, his history, the hardest times and the serenity he recovered. In this way you will be able to touch the hearts of those who observe your tree.. (François Jeker)

Bonsai have always been associated with eternity as well, as it was thought that only those who had the gift of keeping these trees in pots were worthy of it..

s824h0Z - Imgur.jpg

The Bonsai will not save the world or nature, but the feeling it generates returns in its help and defense, because whoever loves the bonsai loves nature. Anonymous

EqLRYnU - Imgur.jpg

This manifestation of art is not a fashion or addiction, it is a work that requires dedication, commitment, and a lot of patience because we take care of a living form that will take a long time to model. However, practitioners say it is also an art-therapy form. An activity that generates tranquility, peace, calm. It teaches us to love the essence of nature, to observe it consciously, to understand it until we find the perfect harmony that will express our spirit through this living sculpture that will never cease to manifest.

Before and after a first wiring and branch placement at the Venezuelan Bonsai Association exhibition

moiAH6Z - Imgur.jpg

Ficus panda


What you should know before you start this practice

  • You can buy a pre-bonsai in specialized shops (not very advanced tree, but ready to be pruned, wired and structured) or we can take a tree of about 15 or 20 centimeters, of thick trunk to mold it ourselves after transplanting it to a flowerpot. You can also start the practice by planting the tree from the seed, although obviously in this case the process will be much slower.
  • The characteristic feature of the bonsai trees is that they are in pots that limit their growth. The determining factor for the pot to use is to ensure that it is large enough to cover the roots of the bonsai.

The parts of the bonsai with which we must familiarize ourselves before starting the practice are apart from the root, with the trunk, the branches and its leaves.

In case of transplanting a bonsai or to take a small tree to a flowerpot, we must, previous cleaning, trim some roots leaving only the strongest ones.

Bonsai can be of different sizes, however, the most standardized is that they measure between 10ctms and 1.20mts.

Once transplanted, the tree should be allowed to grow until the next season before pruning.

Not all trees can be worked as bonsai. You should consult which variety is more suited to the climate in which you live because there are some more resistant than others depending on their location (outdoor or indoor).

It is recommended that the trunk is at least 2 centimeters thick before working, otherwise the tree could not support the wiring or damage the pruning.

Trees with small, dense and compact leaves are the ones that result in a more stylish modeling.

As any plant for its survival it is necessary that there is no lack of light and water, besides that being in a reduced environment it is necessary to provide it periodically with basic nutrition: nitrogen, potassium and phosphate.


VtnKs4p - Imgur.jpg

Master: What do you see?
Apprentice: A half rotten old tree.
Master: You see but you don't see, a Dragon sleeps in it.
Later the apprentice asks a more experienced student: What should I do, I only see a rotten old tree.
To which the other smiling man replied: I would begin by removing the rotten, but without waking the Dragon. Unknown author..



The photographs are my own.
Used Devices: Panasonix Lumix Camera / Samsung mini S4 Mobile Phone
Thank you for your visit!

Sort:  

@astrea Nice specimens you are showing :) Have you ever seen or owned redwood/sequoia bonsai? I saw them for sale on amazon but never cared for one.

@bluefoxy Hi, thanks for your comment. I've never had a redwood bonsai, but I'd love to have one.

Hey @asterea, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 7th of May. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here is a link to a post explaining things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/tomorrow-s-whaleshares-curation-show-the-half-year-special-featuring-sirlunchthehost

@kotturinn thank you so much for scouting around for quality post and proposed it to your whaleshare curation team.
Your initiative is much welcome and appreciated, I am sure by the author. I do feel pleased you are helping newbies
Cheers

Oh yeah, anytime @digitalmind :) I'm glad to see you like these posts!
Thank you!

thanks for the response and upvote of my comment.
I have been always wanted to learn to write a quality content and I find it easier for me to write a description type of post ( like this one )
But In order to value-add to the reader, I need to cite some article or quotation from other author or source. But then, I am not sure what percentage of it is allowed so that it is not considered as plagiarism
Thanks for your advice
Cheers

I think it is okay to use as many sources as you want as long as you write the article yourself. I mean we all learn from someone/somewhere and aren't born with the knowledge.
As long as you don't copy/paste other people's work you will be fine I'm pretty sure :).

Thank you so much to take the time to response to my question .
I get it as long as it does not copy/paste.
Cheers

Hi! @kotturinn Thank you very much for your appreciation, it's an honor for me.

No problem! :)

Looks very cool!Upvoted from the curation show!

Thank you very much :)

Que bien, quise ir a esta exposicion pero se me complico viajar a ccs, me hizo feliz verla por aca!

Estuvo bastante interesante, hicieron 2 demostraciones en vivo. Gracias por la interacción, un saludo :)

Thank you @steamdan for recommending this post for an upvote. I am supporting content on steemit relating to #bonsai that is original. This looked like a very enlightening event. The ficus on the rock was an especially gorgeous photo in front of the setting sun.

totally agree of @steamdan discovery and recommendation
Cheers

@creativetruth Thank you very much for your estimation.

@astrea, I am delighted to see your effort to take these photos of each bonsai and make a descriptor about it for us to understand the [articular bonsai better.
In your post, You also indicated some bonsai cultivation tips which is most helpful for beginners like me.

Congratulation to you too for being picked up by @kotturinn one of the whaleshare curation team members. With this track record, I hope you produce more quality post like this in the future

Wishing you all th best
Cheers

@digitalmind Thank you very much for your evaluation and motivation. I really enjoyed the exhibition and the realization of this post, this practice seems to me to be an art-therapy form and I am very excited to begin it. Thank you again for taking my post into consideration, it is an honor for me to your appreciations.

Thanks for your wishes :)

You are Most welcome. I used to attend bonsai exhibition as well as bonsai workshop as I am a beginner.
I do watch YouTube but it does not train on the type of plant I like
I do post bonsai article and picture with #teambonsai. Do dropby this tag
Looking forward your bonsai post

Thank you, I will review the contents of the #teambonsai label, I am very excited about the creation of my first Bonsai. I chose the Ficus panda to get started. Then I will document it in future publications :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87