Photos From A Beautiful Day at Our Friends Garden in Panama

in #nature7 years ago

I would like to take you through the garden at my friend's house in Panama. We went over the other day to let the kids play and I was drawn to taking some pictures while we were there. Let me start with my absolute favorite plant. I call them Lobster Claws, but I think they are really called Heliconias in Spanish. The first time I saw them was on my honeymoon in Costa Rica 11 years ago. I just love them. These are on my purchase list in the rainy season!

IMG_7633.JPG

Then a most beautiful hibiscus plant. Its pink and purple coloring has this tie dye effect! She even gave me some cuttings of this plant, so I hope mine take root.
IMG_7631.JPG

I'm not exactly sure what this plant is called but it looks like a lily to me. It reminds me of a Peace Lily that I used to always see in those huge planters at the mall. I think it's a magnificent plant. I need to get a bulb of this too!
IMG_7630.JPG

Another beautiful hibiscus. Isn't the coloring just wonderful? My phone did a pretty good job of picking up the color, but it is so beautiful in person as well.
IMG_7625.JPG

This bird of prey was found on the way to her house. Isn't it lovely? I don't know if it is a falcon or a hawk or what. It just sat there and let us take its picture as we drove by!
IMG_7619.JPG

This horse just made a perfect picture! I thought it was so beautiful where he was standing. To get him to look at me, I had to "moo" really loudly. Every time I did, he looked at me! So pretty!
IMG_7616.JPG

You even pass a small natural waterfall coming out of the side of the mountain on the bumpy road to her house. I just love the way it looks so tropical there, and they have a gorgeous house on top of that!
IMG_7615.JPG

Can you believe these pictures were taken right before Christmas?

!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

Sort:  

You have some beautiful country there mama, everything is really gorgeous. That bird looks so empowered sitting there.

It is a pretty area. My friend's garden is just beautiful and they planted every plant. It's amazing. The bird was so cool. The kids really liked it.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:12:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 21.25/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great! Thanks!

Such a beautiful series of shots looks so pleasant and warm there :)

It is lovely and warm here! Thanks for stopping by!

Enjoy the warmth I

Warm but super windy right now. I'm not a huge fan of the wind I'm learning. I much prefer the rain! But I do like that every day is jeans and tshirt weather. ;)

Everyday being jeans and T-shirt weather thats is somehting I could handle as well

Wind can be a right pain and quite discerning, Rain I dont mind especially when it is relatively warm :)
Rain and sleet on a winters day is ot fun at all

No sleet is no fun at all. The rains here are nice enough that the kids usually like to play in them. The wind is currently howling, but most of the day it was nice and calm. I'm all for no wind, lots of sun! :)

YEs on a nice day I still do not get bothered by the rain I often take a stroll in the rain :)

Wow, these photos are amazing. Beautiful flowers and wildlife. What a garden! @ironshield

Thanks! They really are nice looking in real life. Her garden is so tropical and they planted it all themselves. Every time I go over she gives me tons of cuttings to plant!

I love hibiscus tea. It is very good for you and with some sugar doesn't taste too bad!

Have a great week!

Try honey instead. :) I'd get you some of the mead I brew using the dried flower too if I could!

Honey with it does sound good. Thanks for the note.

Oh nice. I haven't tried it. I will need to. We have a nice hibiscus plant at our house.

That's a lot of pink! The... heliconias? are fascinating. They look very tropical, somehow. Nice photos :-)

Yes! I do like pink and I guess my friend does as well. Her hibiscus were all pink shades. :) And they planted all of them. I love the heliconias. They're such a cook plant. I need to get some.

wow ! pretty ! where was this ??? love it !

What are you doing on Steemit??? Posting???? I hope so!! This is Danielle's house. They live right past Dos Rios. It's lovely out there!

Are you in Panama too?

Yes, she's in my same town and we're from the same town in Texas, but we didn't meet until she was ready to move here and posted it on FB and I was friends with someone she tagged! Small world. It worked out nicely.

Yes, that's awesome! It is definitely a small world.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photos-from-a-beautiful-day-at-our-friends-garden-in-panama


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Awesome! Thanks!!

Hibiscus is an amazing plant. Eat the flower. Make tea from it. I make a "Viking's Blod" Dansk retail branded mead duplicate using dried hibiscus flowers. It is my wife's favorite. The flowers are a tonic, very good for your health, and they taste delicious! The mead recipe is 8oz of dried organic hibiscus flowers per 3 gallons of mead. It makes it a deep dark red color... the "blod" of the Viking. ;-)

Thanks for posting this. I had forgotten about hibiscus tea. I need to look more into it. Cook and eat the flower or just eat it raw? We have a plant that has a ton of flowers. One of our friends has a driveway that is lined with massive hibiscus plants of every color. I just planted a bunch of my friend's cuttings. I'm hoping they survive dry season...

I buy dried hibiscus flowers for my mead, but I want to simply grow my own. I'm not positive, but we should be able to eat the flower raw. Most people dry it though and use it for tea. It works the same as tea in the mead brew. The process draws out the deep red color and all the health positive compounds from the flower.

That's pretty cool. Definitely something I want to look into - hibiscus tea! :) Thanks for sharing!

Hi, @apanamamama thanks for taking us along on your ride and showing pictures of your friend's garden of flowers! I looked up those lilies that you called a peace lily, I know it as a calla lily. Did you see my last post where I have pictures of the crocheted scarf I told you I was making?

Ah yes a calla lily! I love those! I just love lilies apparently!! :) Yes, I saw your post. I commented on crosheille's comment. :) I didn't know you guys knew each other. It's a great scarf!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43