Grandfather's Whiskers in Panama - Tree Tuesday

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

I was recently introduced to a very interesting looking plant here in Panama. Although it isn't exactly a tree on #TreeTuesday, I still wanted to share. I think it fits in rather well since this guy grows up to be around eight feet tall (or maybe taller) - quite tree-like.

IMG_8825.JPG
.
IMG_8824.JPG

I was told that the name of this plant was Grandfather's Whiskers, but upon googling to find the official name, I'm not really sure what its name is! It is definitely not Spanish moss.

IMG_8821.JPG

This plant grows in clumps and is kind of like a reed. You will see it growing by a river or in a wet area. There are usually quite a few of them in one area.

IMG_8823.JPG

The ones I have seen are around eight feet tall or so. They have a skinny stalk and then a wispy head t the end. I am not sure but they look like they reproduce and spread out kind of like bamboo. My kids think they are pretty awesome and so do I!

IMG_8826.JPG

Are there Grandfather's Whiskers in your area? Do you know the real name of these plants?


Thank you to @old-guy-photos for creating #treetuesday.
!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map


Thanks @mental-extract for this awesome .gif for @thesteemengine!
steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

@apanamamama, 8 feet!? Those would be so cool to plant in here! I wonder if they grow in other regions.

I don't know! I bet they would grow in Houston. Some of the other trees that we have here are available there. I don't know if they grow from a bulb or a seed or what. I need to find out more about these plants. ;)

These are beautiful! I've never seen or heard of them before and don't know their real name. Basically I don't have much to add, but they are beautiful photos and I hope your name sticks!

:) Thanks! Yeah I need to ask again what the name of them is. I may have made up Grandfather's Whiskers. But Grandfather's Beard doesn't sound right either...

I think Grandfather's Whiskers is a suitable name for this tree. Your photos really capture their wispy-ness (new word, ha! :) )

:) Thanks! Yeah, cool new word! ;) Windy day = extra wispy!

Nope. Never heard of them until now. Interesting looking plant...great photos.

Thanks! Yeah, they are pretty cool looking!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:18:49
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 143.90/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great - thanks!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=grandfather-s-whiskers-in-panama-tree-tuesday


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That's an interesting-looking plant. They sort of remind me of those seed pods from a Dandelion, except really big and green. If they start getting too big, do you have to shave them? :-)

Unusual plant, I see it for the first time. I think "Grandfather's Whiskers" it's a talking name , because it really looks like)

I will have to give this some thoughts... I am starting a Panama fan page... resteeming for now.. but hope to put some informative post soon on places to see in Panama

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45