Tourist in Romania: Negoiu PeaksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

Who is Negoiu?

Yesterday I showed you the highest peak in Romania, Moldoveanu. Today I will introduce you to his brother, a little bit shorter but much tougher in my perspective. His name is Negoiu and he is 2535 m high. I consider it to be more difficult but this can have as main source the fact that I tried 2 times before being able to reach the peak.

You will need at least 7 hiking hours starting from Balea Lake to the peak and it's not an easy trail, couple of areas with cables. But it's not very technical either, you'll just have to be more careful. Just to be sure I suggest you to have a tent and to be prepared to stay in the night with around 0 degrees Celsius even in the middle of the summer. There is a refuge but in weekends can be full.

Third time was a lucky one, Negoiu decided to welcome me

We left Bucharest in the morning, reached Balea Lake around 11 am, stayed for lunch and then started the hike. For the first day we wanted to stay at Caltun refuge, near the lake with the same name. Why here?

That's why:)

As this was my third try I wanted to be a memorable one and I decided to start the final climb during the night in order to catch the sunrise on the peak.
I am not usually this determined when hiking, I prefer to be relaxed and enjoy each step. This time I was so decided to accomplish my objectives that on some areas I ran as I was afraid the sun will be faster than me.
I was lucky and reached the peak 2-3 minutes before the sunrise. It was a beautiful gift.

I was simply amazed of how beautiful it was.

Everything around was just magical, the light was perfect,

this flower was perfect

and I felt perfect

If you are a fan of Lord of the Rings I felt as a little hobbit going back on a different trail, surrounded only by rocks and quietness.

If you want to visit Negoiu

  1. Plan your trip in the summer, August or beginning of September as best choices. When there is snow, the road to the lake is closed.
  2. From Bucharest drive to Balea Lake (239 km, approximately 4 hours ). Your bonus will be Transfagarasan, a road voted as the most beautiful in the world some years ago.
  3. From there follow the marks and enjoy your trail. Consider 2 days if you want only Negoiu or you can take a longer trip and see all Fagaras Peak (Moldoveanu included). This can take around one week, tent and enough supplies are mandatory.

I hope you liked seeing this pictures as much as I liked remembering this very beautiful escape.

Sort:  

It's hard to leave once you get there, this was the reason why I did not managed to complete the hike first time I tried:)

And this ray of light striking in the lake... That's the stuff of a legendary tale :)

I believe there are some interesting legends in the area. I will search...

Negoiu look very massive! I didn't get it yet. Maybe 2017 or 2018 will be a good year to do that. :)

Let me know if you need guidance or have any questions:)

Good post and amazing pictures! I'll follow you! 8)

Thank you for your feedback! It's hard not to take good pictures in this mountains.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67