You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Forager’s Hike: Walking Through Bay Laurel and Miner’s Lettuce

in #nature6 years ago

Gophers are practically blind, especially when they venture above ground, so they rely on sound and smell to find their food.

I never knew this. I've always known they are pretty smart. Any idea how it can be captured easily?
My dad tried everything possible to send them away, they destroyed most of our plants then.

And you were 100% right about the Miner's Lettuce.

Your writeups was well detailed and very easy to read. Keep up the good work.

Sort:  

Gophers are difficult in gardens. I actually don't have a problem with them here (which is some distance from this hike spot), but I know some people put a layer of wire mesh poultry wire under their garden beds so the gophers do not take all of their plants. Of course, there are other methods of stopping them also, but those tend to involve poison or violence...

Oh! Thanks. I'll try that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97