You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MIMOSA PUDICA - ONE SHY PLANT

in #nature7 years ago

A long time ago in a mountain village in the wilds of the West Kootenays, British Columbia, my seven year old daughter gave me a 'Sensitivity' plant for Mother's Day. Friends would go near it, talk to it, and/or touch it, and the leaves would close. My roommate and I could never get it to fold it's leaves. We would yell at it and even smack it a few times, no luck. Then one day a rather aggressive man visited. He had no sooner entered the room and the plant completely, every stem of leaves, folded. He said, "Oh, those things. I kill them just by being in the same room with them too long". Maybe sensitive to more than touch?
But that was the imported houseplant variety.

Sort:  

What a peculiar and interesting story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62152.13
ETH 2441.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65