You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌿 Weight Of The World

I agree @riverflows, we also try to abide by that rule as well and I have had similar feelings about having to watch my weight and all of that. Most of the pantry is stocked with raw, basic ingredients. Its just the easiest way for me to control all of what goes into our bodies.

My mental health impacts my weight, if I am depressed I tend to add a few pounds because everything falls apart. I have never had obesity as a problem but just those occasional blips in my own health have taught me how slippery a slope it could become. I can imagine how hard it is to break out of that cycle when there are so many influences directing people towards convenience.

A big blog once shared my post on eating healthy on a budget. The demographic on their page was mainly American. Quite a few people attacked my post because "who has time to cook from scratch" they felt threatened by these age old sensible ideas.

Schools, communities, the world really needs to shape up when it comes to educating and making real food less of a scary thing. I think if people started eating real food, they would be healthier, slimmer and all around better off.

Sort:  

I agree. We actually had a lot less health problems before convenience foods. I always taught my boy simple fast food because I knew one day he would be out of home and cooking for himself and I didn't want him to live off packet food. Nasi goreng, vegie pasta and morrocan eggs were his speciality haha.. most of the crew he has lived with or cooked for look at his cooking in amazement and say: How do you KNOW all this stuff? Like it's rocket science. He sent a mate to get kale from the grocers and he came back with celery lol. He was making brown rice vegan risotto with sauted kale, spring onions, preserved lemon and vegan fetta on top. Purely by feel. It's all down to education and what society thinks is important and how much we are swayed by media telling us what to eat and what we should eat and weigh and so on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34