You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Natural healing with Helichrysum Italicum. - ITS AMAZING!!!!

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

How lovely to read your wonderful comments! Thats amazing to hear about your work with plants too. It is so true, once we look around us we are surrounded by healing plants. Truly wonderful. I have never heard of the name Stanlibeth it is very pretty. I also learned to grow and appreciate plants from my mother and she is still winning prizes in horticultural shows well into her eighties! Mums are the BEST! hahaha lots of love to you @crescendoofpeace. ( and that is a cool name too ;)

Sort:  

Yes, "Stanlibeth" was original, created by my grandmother, when she wanted to name her first child after her beloved brother Stanley.

The joke was that the Scots add "beth" to the end of everything, so that was how she feminized the name for her daughter.

My grandfather was a longtime charter pilot and flight instructor, so during his time in the Army Air Corps, during WWII, he and the family were transferred all over the US.

At age sixteen, due to a shortage of instructors, my mother was pressed into service to give preflight training to the young incoming pilots.

One young pilot wrote her a letter, aftereaving the base, addressed only to her first name, with a note to the postmaster apologizing for not remembering her last name.

Amazingly, the letter caught up with her several months later, and the postmaster who found her was so impressed that he named his own daughter Stanlibeth in my mom's honor. Pretty cool.

There was another funny story that occurred around the same time, when my grandfather was picking up their ration books, and the clerk asked for his first name, and those of his family members.

So he gave them: his name was Fyfe, his wife was Ouida, and their daughter was Stanlibeth. To which the clerk replied, in an exasperated manner, "Sir, I don't care what they call you, I just need your names." ;-) Lololol!!!

I hadn't heard Sallybeth before, so that's new to me, and I like it.

Have a wonderful day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27