You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Becoming vegan: why didn't I do it earlier?

What a great entry into the challenge. Funny, I didn't come across it that way - you just appeared in my feed as someone else resteemed it! I have been avoiding Cowspiracy as I don't want to get more depressed - but I have heard it's pretty full on. I was vegetarian for most of my life, and never ate lots of dairy, and have had times of veganism. But I raise my own chooks (eggs) and buy local cheese and meat from ethical farmers so I feel okay about it. I can cook vegan and vego like a boss though! He he.

Running - just then read an article on how people who run once a week live longer than people who don't - so I thought I had to start running, which I bloody hate with a passion - then I read the fine print - 'than those that live sedentary lifestyles and don't run' - I am not sedentary so I think I'm good. Running takes it's toll on the body - give me surfing, yoga and gardening instead, and brisk walking. YOu'll find once you start a regime it'll become addictive!

Sort:  

I have heaps of vegetarian friends, but also friends who are similar to you, and buy from ethical farmers. I think that it all makes a difference, and we all have to do what we feel right about :-)
I read an article about the same a while ago - but yes, it's hard on the body too, so I don't know ........I may just keep walking, and yoga, and gardening too ;-)

I think it's pretty important to recognise that a vegan diet may not be healthy for some people, but we can always limit the amount of eat we eat AND where we source it from, particularly because of the environmental impact as well.

Don't run! He he... i really do hate running THAT much!

Definitely - such an extreme diet really needs to be researched before considering whether it's right for you or not. Limiting meat, and eating a wide range of foods from ethical farms, is a good thing if vegetarian and vegan diets aren't right for someone :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67