Northern Hemisphere Dreaming: Ancestral Longings, Hot Days & A Calming Tea

image.png

Today's walking was a walking of longing. As the sun heats the earth in the southern hemisphere, I watch the plantain yellow and wilt, and the tips of the gum trees lose their red nascent flushes, and long for the north. Maybe it's because I am actually heading to my other heart home soon that my thoughts fly to English woods, but I miss the wild herbs and plants, and lament the lack of them here in Australia. Everything is cultivated, it seems, and the wild plants I know so little of, lacking as I do the indigneous knowledge that I do. I tend nettles and sage, elderflowers and lavender, lemon balm and mugwort, and wish I could pluck it from wild spaces instead.

Whilst I might wish that I had indigenous plant knowledge, my roots are European, and there is no escaping that. I long for woods and valleys where I can pick wild plants, seasonally, tenderly, picking the blooms in the summer months after their long hibernation mid year. Everything does feel upside down here, sometimes. This is what can happen to the children and grandchildren of migrant families, especially the well travelled ones who have identified with ancestral lands.

image.png

Perhaps it was because my winter was so busy that I missed the dark hibernation time that winter gifts me. Too much time was spent busy in bright lights, responding to the loudness of the world and failing to make space to listen to the things brewing under the surface of me. I desperately want to rewind to June, and truly tend seeds in the dark soil of my mind.

And so I imagine wild spaces whilst I pluck cultivated herbs to make a medicinal tea, a calming one in the frantic heat that has South Australia on high fire alert and the weather swirls above, ready to burn the tips of my broad beans whilst the mint cowers under the dying artichokes.

divider bw.fw.png

Lemon balm nestles next to the mint and peppermint in my garden, and it is overtaking my mother's cottage garden in great swathes of green, so I had plenty to dry. For hundreds of years, melissa officianilis has been used as a calmative, and though it makes my husband anything but calm (he cannot stand the smell, perhaps because he pulled so much of it from gardens in his other life as a gardener) I find it a gentle sister. It is known to enhance mood and cognitive performance, probably due to it's calming effects.1 .

Calendula I must admit I add for the pop of orange colour, and I adore drying handfuls of them as they look so darn pretty. I love it for it's adaptablity - not only does has it adapted well as a migrant here, or easily slides into summers salads or winter stews, but it has multiple uses, from wound healing to stimulating the lymph, supporting our immune system. Not only is it a winter tonic herb, but it is also a cooling one for summer as well as bringing summer cheer with it's brightness.

From one sun associated plant to another, with chamomile, like calendula, has sun shaped blooms that have a place in my tea. The sun chases the blues away - an interesting thought, since the oils from both German and Roman chamomile have a blue tinge. The small soft and delicate blooms of chamomile have a subtley that seems to counter the knock your socks off scent of lavender, a sweetness that buzzes sweetly at the tips of my fingers as I pluck at the heads. Both flowers remind me of my roots. My German ancestry fills the quiet spaces of my mind when I cultivate chamomile. It seems poetic that the root word for the latin name for German Chamomile, matricacia, alludes to the mother and the idea of nurture through calm and gentleness. Well known as a nervous system sedative, it calms irritablity and restlessness, something that tends to rise in me at this time of the year as I finish up the term of work and vibrate with energy that does not always arise from a nourished place. I think of my grandmother's kitchen table, chamomile tea and thick slices of apple strudel, and wish she was still here. I think of my mother giving me chamomile tea with brandy to soothe my nerves before heading on a plane for the first time to Europe, landing in Germany.

The bees are loving the lavender. I do wish our beekeeper would come and check to see if we have honey yet - I am so impatient! Lavender flowers pair well with the lemony citrus flavours of lemon balm. Lavender is my favourite calming herb - like lemon balm, it calms the nervous system, and is fabulous for sleep - something I need even with the longer daylight hours and increasing yang energy of summer. Some cultures believed that the new day began with the onset of night. I love this idea - at nighttime, we are like the seed under the earth being nourished by rest, ready to bloom again in the day.

image.png

Calming Garden Tea

2 cups of dried lemon balm
1/4 cup calendula
1/4 cup lavender
1 cup chamomile

Mix, pour over hot water and steep for ten minutes before drinking.

divider bw.fw.png

What is your favourite soothing tea blend?

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

Sort:  

Ahhhh, a post of summer things, as the cold wind roars around the house threatening to take off the newly laid tarpaper....

Bright calendula.... mine has only just succumbed to frost in the last couple weeks.

She's a pretty thing! We are definitely at polar extremes, both literally and figuratively. Hope that tarpaper stays put! The weather could be more polite and wait for you to stop your building! - @riverflows (oops, forgot to switch accounts)

Wonderful combination for a relaxing tea! And it looks so pretty too plus I image the aroma is quite divine too!
I think you covered all the plants I would use for a relaxing tea and lovely that you can pick it right from your garden even if it is not wild crafting!
I'm sorry to hear the heat is having such a devastating effect on your plants!
How is the wicking bed doing!
I'm happy you have your upcoming trip to look forward too - kind of like us Canadians heading south this time of year to miss the cold.
You'll be heading north to beat the heat!
How soon before you leave?

It was a very tactile sensory experience!!

Not sure. Maybe head off Jan/Feb. Bit of a pull leaving the garden! Just going to have to let it go wild and do it's thing.

Ha, the plants just struggle on through the summer. Have more of a micro climate happening these days which is cool. My post probably sounds more dramatic than it is - that's just me for you! - @riverflows (oops, forgot to switch accounts)

Aww I want to wander in your Garden! Yikes on the heat there. Thank you for the detailed information, I am definitely going to try this tea blend too. I didn't know you could eat calendula!! I love the bright orange color of it too. I like to use it in a bath salt soak that I make. How amazing that herbs were a part of your family. I feel like many people here are so disconnected from herbs and the natural world around them. I am avidly looking to reconnect to the world around me. One of my favorite calming blends we make at work is the jitterbug: chamomile, oat straw, lemon balm, rose petals, and skullcap 💕🙏🏻 It smells so good! Lots of love 💜

I do love it when you share these blends! I have been wanting to get into tea making for ages. Oh yes calendula should be sprinkled on every meal!!!

You are naturally talented at the tea blends!! I just got my mini home apothecary set up at home. Made elderberry syrup for the first time at home and it turned out great! Ohh I will have to try that 💞

Soon, soon you will be walking in those forests. Hawthorn berries is one of my favourite relaxing teas along with chamomile as well xxxx

Oooh, we do have hawthorn here, waiting for right time for berries!

Posted using Partiko Android

I love drinking herbal tea and your recipe is very good. I have chosen the dosage of drinking medicinal teas for myself, I devote 3 times a week to herbs. All health.

I do so feel and appreciate your sense of dislocation sometimes, and the pull between cultivated herbs that sing to our ancestral souls amid a dry, seemingly desolate & hot landscape that is tight-lipped about her healing wisdom.

What to do in that place? Apply tea. And you have done that so very beautifully.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

'Tight lipped about her healing wisdom'

YES. This is EXACTLY it.

Oh I don't know if I have a favorite calming rea... not yet!

I know this longing for the place you (or your people) came from. I think there is a lot of that in the US, where alomost everyone is from somewhere else. And with the all so many different climates to be found, I think it isn't the same as what their DNA demands.

Nice recipe I will have to try it. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65