On Making Water Kefir: Interview with @crescendoofpeace

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: On Making Water Kefir: Interview with @crescendoofpeace


Please find that all our content is now visible on HIVE. We'll see you there!

All the same LOTUS lovin', and the same welcome - but on a far more decentralised, ethical and blossoming blockchain!

Much love!

Sort:  

@naturalmedicine ...great article ...very impressive
got a lot of information .....

I couldn't quite get past the look of the kombucha scoby so I make my own kefir. It's absolutely delicious with some lime or lemon juice.

That's a good idea I will have to try lime juice. I'm going to try straight water and sugar with the grains today so I think some extra flavour would be really nice. I also saw a recipe for rhubarb and honey water kefir so I'm going to try that too

Ooh, that sounds delicious. I love rhubarb but I think we've just come to the end of the season here.
Something for next year.

I use key lime juice on a regular basis, which I love, and we also have a Polish black currant syrup that we add on a regular basis , which is luscious.

I've even added both at once, which is refreshing and delicious.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yum!!!! I just made a strawberry one. Polish black currant syrup sounds good -- what makes it polish?

My husband is Polish, so when we visit his dad in Brooklyn, we always hit to Polish shops and bring home a lot of goodies.
Just happens to be where they make the syrup. ;)

So when I finish writing this post a few days ago , I put the grains in coconut water and 2 days later it was done full stop so much easier than Kombucha. When I strained it I put it into one of my husband's brewing bottles and left it on the counter for a day and then lo and behold it got fizzy. It was absolutely delicious.

I wanna try this!!

It's really good. I've actually stopped making kombucha because I was enjoying the water kefir more. Strawberry water kefir is absolutely incredible and I just made a passionfruit one which I think is going to be great. You can order the grains online too although I got them from my son's girlfriend. Let me know if you give it a go

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool interview! love the lager versus IPA saying, mostly I have totally no idea how this fermenting works. These kinds of simple sayings add a lot of understanding value to me :)

Ha, was it the beer analogy? I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I brew buch but have never tried water kefir. Those bottles full of fruit and herbs tho are too tempting! I'll be trying this. Resteeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56