That moment in the hospital when they verify what you already knew - And a win with my daughter.

A few weeks ago, my eldest daughter wasn't feeling well. She was throwing up, complaining about stomach pains, and basically, everything that went in came straight back out. Even water. At first, I have to admit, I wasn't taking it too seriously. First of all because throughout her almost 17 years of life, she has a habit of eating the wrong things. Things I warn her about, like white bread, white rice, and other crap. Her stomach has never fared well on those 'foods', so this was my first thought: she must have eaten something like that. Besides that, my son had recently come down with the stomach flu, so to me, it was 1 + 1 = 2.

thermometer-1539191_960_720.jpg

However, later that night, she almost cried with pain, to a point when both me and her boyfriend didn't know what to think of it. We were both still on the fence about things, but when she insisted that she didn't have this stomach bug, I promised to take her to the doctor's office the next day. There's something I have to explain about my daughter. Her way of rebelling against me is to go with the mainstream when it comes to medical issues. She rolls her eyes at my natural remedies, even though they work. She would just never admit to me that I could be right about things. There was a time when she was younger when she would ask for 'the plant' (meaning Aloe Vera) when she had scraped her knee. And even though she is still using it now when she has a cut or scrape, she will never admit that it actually works.

aloe-2163120_960_720.jpg
source

So in the morning, I called the doctor's office to make an appointment. The assistent was quick to tell me that there was no time slot available until after the weekend. It was Thursday. She asked me about the symptoms, and then (just like I did for a moment, the night before) said she thought it sounded like constipation and to call her back if it got worse. I told her right away that she seemed to be in a lot of pain that just wouldn't go away, but she wouldn't budge. I asked my daughter if she wanted to go to the hospital instead, but she declined. The thought of being in that waiting room for at least 5 hours, didn't appeal to any of us. But an hour later, the pain was still there, and there was nothing that worked to relieve it. I called the doctor back and this time, the assistant let us come in, right away.

Doctor Google

img_9826.jpg

I had a good look at my daughter, in daylight, which makes all the difference, rather than inside the home. I let the thoughts of her symptoms pass through my mind for a brief moment, and studied her skin complexion. She seemed a bit yellowish. I blurted out the very first thing that came to mind: "This looks like gall-stones to me if you ask me."
At this stage, there was only a shrug coming from her. She'd left the eye-rolling behind...
Luckily, the doctor was ready to see her within minutes. Asked the usual questions. What did she eat, what does she usually eat throughout the day, was there a possibility of pregnancy... He then asked her to give him a urine sample, also did a pregnancy test (just 'in case') which came back negative, and did some quick tests with some acidity papers (?). He said that he would send off the sample for lab work.
Now I had the chance to tell him my thoughts, but when I mentioned gall-stones, he was close to giving me an eye-roll. Instead, he sighed, and said: "Now, let's not self-diagnose and jump to conclusions before the lab tests come back."
I could see from the way he talked that his inner thoughts were: "There you have'em again, those Google doctors..." he was about to send us off, when I asked him to write a letter, just in case things got worse and we needed to visit the hospital. He wrote us that, and two prescriptions to stop nausea, and stop vomiting.

On the way home

My daughter was happy to take the medication he prescribed, but only seconds after she took them, she threw all of it up again. No good.
Towards the evening she started feeling a bit better and even ate a little bit.
Since she was supposed to stay at her boyfriend's house that night, I gave her the letter the doctor gave us, in case she had to go to the A&E from there.

About 12 hours later, there she was. After a long 6 hours of tests and waiting, they finally admitted her. The first thing they gave her after blood tests, was an X-Ray. I thought this was odd, and questioned them why they didn't do an ultra-sound first as it is less invasive and they can usually see a lot on those. Nothing came back on the X-Ray...
The doctor on call replied, with the same look I had seen on the GP the day before, that they were going to do that, probably the next day. They also booked her for a gastroscopy, before the ultrasound.

In the morning

I called my daughter to ask how it was going, and that I was leaving soon with some of her things. She was a bit annoyed, as they wouldn't let her leave the room as she had to wait for the team to come and get her for those tests.

Upon my arrival, shortly after, she still hadn't been seen. I asked the nurse on the ward, which was the children's ward, so Peppa Pig and Dora the Explorer galore, if we could bring her downstairs to the restaurant. She replied that this was not possible because they could now call her in any time, and if she wasn't there, she'd have to wait longer...

Noon came, and two p.m. came and no 'team' in sight. We asked the same nurse again. It was still a firm No. By 4 p.m. I asked the nurse if they had maybe forgotten my daughter. She then said we could take her downstairs for a little while, but to be back soon, because any moment now...

In the cafeteria, I ordered a coffee for myself and juice for my daughter and her boyfriend.
We just sat down as the doctor who was on my daughter's case walked past and recognized her. He seemed friendly enough, introduced himself to me, as I hadn't met him yet and then told us that they would not be able to fit her in for any tests that day (yeah, duh...). Since it was Friday, it wouldn't be until Monday...He apologized and then asked me to stay behind while the two of them made their way back upstairs.

This is when things got interesting. He was concerned about her weight. Yes, I told him I was too, because she was always on the thin side, and these past few days of barely eating and throwing up had not done her any good. I judged him for a moment, and thought to bring up my initial thoughts again but he pretty much brushed those under the carpet right away. "We shouldn't jump to any conclusions."
He then asked me about her mental health, and I told him that the past year had been tough for her, with school and other things. He apologized again before saying goodbye.
As he walked away, it hit me: they are treating this as an eating disorder. Her weight loss causes them to bark up the wrong tree!
Now, she's had her issues this past year. It hadn't been an easy year. But I know my daughter, and I know that I would have scoped it if she had an eating disorder, probably before it developed into something serious. But still, this conversation didn't leave me with a great feeling...

The weekend came and went, and Monday, I made sure I was at the hospital before noon, as they were going to do the gastroscopy around lunch time. She hadn't been allowed to eat or drink since 12 a.m.
When I arrived, she had already had her ultrasound, which was odd, since they had told us they would do this after the gastroscopy.
But then again, nothing anyone had said had been done to this point, so no surprise here.

Noon came, and still no call. Again, 2 p.m. came, no one. Finally, at 4.45 p.m the nurse came in to bring her to her appointment. Ridiculous if you think that they are worried about an eating disorder but then let her without food or liquids for nearly 17 hours.
Not that the hospital food would help anyone back to health...
At this stage, I still didn't know what came out of the ultrasound.
After the gastroscopy, my girl was rolled back into her room where we waited for the team of doctors to tell us what the deal was.
This didn't happen until 6.30 p.m.
They told us she would have to stay at least two more days, she would definitely not be able to come home the next day. But probably Wednesday.
They wanted to give her antibiotics in a drip for those two days because there was some inflammation visible.
When I asked where they replied: the gallbladder...And, oh yeah: in the ultrasound, hours earlier, they had seen that she had gall-stones....🤔😡
Jeez just imagine they would actually listen to what I had to say. It would have saved her a few days in the hospital. And fewer tests. But yeah, you wouldn't trust someone who 'self- diagnoses' of course.

I went home, slightly annoyed by this, thinking that I would be collecting her in a day or two.

The next day, she calls me in the morning, to tell me the doctor was going to call me. They wanted another blood test 'just to be sure'...and she didn't want to do it (she hates needles). I should tell them that they could stick their needles elsewhere and that I was bringing her home. When the doctor called, he told me they needed to do the test to be sure that her blood came back normal.
I called her back, told her that they wouldn't let her go without it. We couldn't really refuse, or they could call social workers for refusing care. Not an option. So she agreed to get it done.

At 5 p.m. the doctor called me to tell me I could come to pick her up. Hmmm, so first they needed to keep her till Wednesday, but now all of a sudden she could go. Sounds to me like they needed the bed.
He asked: "So you heard what the issue was?"
"Yes..."
"What did you hear?" (What was I? An intern?)
"Well, why don't you tell me, you're the doctor. I'm only a self- diagnosing Google doctor."
Quiet...
"Well, the gallstones...But that's good news."
"How is that good news?"
"Well, now at least we know the issue and are able to do something about it (read: cut out her gallbladder)"
"Uh huh.."
"Aaand..." he added, "now we also know there is no mental issue. That would be much harder to treat."
"Yeah, I already knew it wasn't. I'm on my way."

tulips-2091609_960_720.jpg
source

On the way home...

My daughter, her boyfriend and I are chatting away. She was happy to go home. Five days in that hospital drained her.
"Mom?!"
"Yeah?"
"You know something natural for these buggers right?"
"The gall stones? Yes."
"Good."

For a moment it was quiet.
Then something came to mind and I laughed out loud.

"What?" My daughter asked me.
"I just realized something. I missed my calling."
"Huh?"
"Yeah, I should have become a doctor."
And with a laugh, but annoyance in her voice over the ordeal she'd been through, she replied:
"Yeah, well, you definitely would have been better than any of them.What a bunch of idiots!"
😂🤣

My work here is done...

Thank you for reading!

xas.png

steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

Great account of a hospital visit! It's so true that we MUST do what we know is wrong if our children are still minors, for fear of losing them to the system that thinks it knows more than we do. And I have learned (also the hard way) to NEVER disclose psychological or emotional problems, because the all knowing doctors will always follow that scent first.
Here is a link to a short poem you might enjoy that I wrote last month after hanging at a hospital with my son for eight days:
https://steemit.com/naturalmedicine/@owasco/a-necessary-evil

Thank you for your story.

Thank you for reading @owasco! Yes, indeed. It's crazy really. I have four kids, but I am already counting down to the day my eldest turns 18 (next year) so it's one worry less when it comes to state/medical interference. When I tell anyone that my kids are unvaccinated and never sick, they look at me as if I have two heads. Some call me crazy, while they run to the hospital a few times a year at least, for minor things. Ireland is very bad like that, the people here seem to have subscriptions at the doctor's office...

Similar in the US. The reason my son is so sick is because I was essentially afraid to do what I knew was best for him (stay away from doctors and their drugs! Double for dentists!) because he could have been removed from my home along with the other two. It was actually threatened once, and after that I schlepped two of them to the best GI (supposedly) in NYC every six weeks. Big mistake. Huge.

Mum's know best right?
Glad she is feeling better
And well done to you :D

Thank you @kaerpediem! Yes, most mothers know their child better than anyone. In my case, I had gall-stones myself years ago and treated them naturally. So I knew the signs. I went with gut feeling, while doctors aren't able to do that anymore nowadays.

When my son was 6 weeks old, he started throwing up. Within days he was throwing up every feed and I was panicking, running to the hospital everyday by the second week. And I had this baby book and when I read the chapter on reasons why babies vomit, I knew it was pyloric stenosis.
So i tell the doctor my suspicions and she shut me up saying parents nowadays do too much reading and think they know everything.
So after numerous trips, me thinking I was losing the baby I was correct.
I never went back to her though she came highly recommended.
It took her 6 days from when I told her what I think it was to confirming it is just that.

I have another story on Doctors and my Mum ...just as bad if not worse. But I would like to think there must still be some decent ones out there ....it’s just too scary otherwise

Posted using Partiko iOS

WOW! That's aweful. The arrogance. If she would have just checked for it at least, you and your son would have been spared 6 days of stress and I don't know what...Poor child and poor mommy for having to go through that. Shame on that doctor. Yeah, I hope there are still decent ones. My old GP in Holland was awesome, as was his replacement when he was off. They were both more into natural remedies instead of the pharma route. I truly believe that because of them I now have the confidence to recognize something as not serious, even when it looks bad. A whole lot better than living in fear with every sneeze. I even asked my GP if he wouldn't consider moving to Ireland with us LOL. Here, it's very hard to find doctors like that. My GP is not the worst, but not the best either. My old one here actually called social services when I told her that my son wasn't vaccinated. I went down there because my son had an ear infection, and she asked me about his vaccinations...not sure what that has anything to do with it but sure... I could see in her face she was going to call them, and I was right. We left her practice right away after that. Luckily the social worker told me that it was my own choice, and that she could see I made the decision after research and not just because I felt like it.

Poor kid!

That sucks she had to go through that.

When do we see the post with the natural medicines?

Good idea! Never thought about writing about it. But yeah, I might do that soon. Thanks for stopping by @metzli, good to see ya!

🥳❤️🎈

Five days to tell you what you already knew?? God, I hate doctors and hospitals. Hope you find a way to avoid having the gallbladder out.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, they suck a lot (not all the time of course). The doctor told me that it's very rare to see gall-stones in someone so young, so I had to inform him that stress can cause gall-stones, which in her case makes a lot of sense. That was probably the reason why they were looking at other causes for her pain first, because this wasn't the most probable. Since it is much more common for girls her age to have an eating disorder (sadly), that's probably why that's the first that came to mind. It's a shame these doctors can't see past their protocol and don't seem to be able to think outside the box anymore.

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.554 which ranks you at #1841 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1837).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nice story. Thanks

You're welcome. Thanks for reading!

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.46% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Brings tears to my eyes!

That really sucks. How's she doing now? Didn't see this post earlier sorry.. I know how much those stones hurt, I've had them too, and I wish my doctor would have listened to my story at bit better, because for 6 months they gave me pain meds because of back pains. When the attacks of pain arrived, I started to recognize the "back" pain came from that. I could never point my finger at the exact spot where the pain came from. When they discovered the stones I wondered why they didn't check that any better.. It hurts like hell these attacks..Hope everything is calmed down now!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @anouk.nox, sorry, I saw your comment, wanted to respond but there was some kind of glitch. So it wouldn't let me post it...Left it (in anger haha) and then forgot...She's fine now. Yeah, I've had them too. It's the worst pain, I'd rather have twins... Yeah, doctors are not gods although they often think they are...and the patients with them.

Haha I totally get that, I also say to everyone that asks about those attacks that I'd rather have a c-section :) But I must confess that the last c-section was not that easy and fast recovery, so now I'm not that sure if I would pick that over those attacks.. Glad to read she's doing ok, so no surgery needed??

Posted using Partiko Android

No surgery...we're solving it naturally :)

Congratulations @misslasvegas! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71398.11
ETH 3875.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51