Steemfest Recovery: Home Remedies for the Common Cold

Yes, I’m still procrastinating the epic post about Steemfest with all the pics and stories and tagging everyone. I have a good excuse, though. I’m sorta sick.

I’m not the only one whose recovery from Poland is drawing out, but I’m actually not feeling that rough, all things considered. I attribute this to having healthy home remedies on stock. Figured I’d share my approach.

Obviously, I’m not a doctor, just a woman who listens to her body and will always try natural medicine before turning to pharmaceuticals. This is not medical advice. You do you.

For me, I believe the body is the best healer, especially when given the tools it needs. Here are some things I use to get healthy and stay healthy.

sleep


Home Remedies to Boost the Immune System


  • Bone broth

This is one of the most important, to me. In a stock pot, put a bunch of filtered water and the bones from a chicken (or turkey, or beef bones, or whatever you’ve got) with a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar to draw out the minerals from the bones. After letting that soak for 30 min, add carrots, onions, celery, fresh ground pepper, and whatever spices you want, as well as any scraps you have like kale stems. Don’t add salt—do that at the end to taste. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer for 12-24 hours, longer if beef bones.

You can look up more detailed recipes online, but this is how I make mine. Drink it with sea salt and butter, or use as a base for a soup.

  • Probiotics

When your body has enough good bacteria it can fight the bad ones on its own. I take probiotic supplements every day, plus eat fermented foods like kimchee, sauerkraut, and yogurt, though I tend to go easy on dairy when I’m sick as it can create more mucus. I up the number of probiotic supplements I take when I'm under the weather.

  • Water, and Vitamin-C/Electrolyte packets

Staying hydrated is vital, but sometimes water alone doesn’t seem to do the trick, so I tear open a packet of electrolyte/vitamin powder and stir it into a tall glass of filtered water. I should’ve brought waaay more of these little packets to Steemfest, as I only brought four and gave two away. They’re fabulous little boosts of energy and nutrition.

  • Oil of Oregano

If I’m fighting something that needs an antibiotic type approach, I use oil of oregano instead of going for pills, if at all possible. Follow directions on the bottle, and take away from probiotics. If you do take antibiotics, supplementing with probiotics becomes even more important, just take them at separate times of the day, and keep taking probiotics after you’ve finished the course of antibiotics.

  • Herbal Tea

Yes, more liquids. There are so many herbal teas that help in myriad ways. I’ve been taking pau d’arco lately, which has a slew of health benefits.

  • SLEEP

Rest is crucial. This is when your body does the heavy-duty healing it needs. I’m pretty sure I’m sick because I was having so much fun sleep fell to the bottom of my priority list. No regrets, but now I’m stocking up. Sleepfest is on!

line

I could keep going, but these are top on my list. I hope it gave you an idea or two to help your own health routine.

What about you? What natural approaches do you use to fight the common cold and boost the immune system?

Thanks for reading!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
Top photo by Nat Anfield.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steem.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


alliance banner

Sort:  

@katrina-ariel timely post! ((:
The flu bug is going around and I caught it as well...

Posted using Partiko Android

Gah. Seems like most everyone I know is sick. Hope you feel better soon! :)

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Thank you so much!

The only thing I don't do is the bone broth, but everything else I was doing this past week when I was sick. Sadly I didn't have epic stories from Steemfest to go with my little cold, though. ;) The only other thing I did was golden milk to get an extra hit of turmeric, ginger and some other spices. Besides being good for you, it is quite delicious. Definitely need to get some more oil of oregano since I am just about depleted. I would much rather use that when I really have to than antibiotic pills if I can help it.

Oh! Golden milk is a great idea. I take turmeric, but that combo is perfect. Take care of yourself. :)

Speedy recovery!!! ❤️❤️❤️😘😘😘
I love bone broth and soup! Yummy and good even when we are not sick. Nutritional for us. And yes, totally agree on the rest part. Our body can "repair" ourselves when we are resting...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Yes, more rest. Sleepfest continues.

Hugs!! Great post. Do need to get on this bone broth thing... you should post a full recipe!!! X

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Yes, I'll be making more bone broth soon. I'll try to get a recipe up for you. :)

Try some ginger tea with lemon and honey. That is my go to. 😊 Be well soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! Yes. Lemon and honey. Gotta get on that. ;)

Hope you are soon caught up on your rest after steemfest. When all else fails I make a big dish of chicken and rice spiced with Currie. Jalapeño peppers also good. 💕

Yum! Thank you, yes. More rest. Sleep is good.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I've heard how beneficial bone broth is for you. I definitely want to try it. With the weather switching between hot and cold, I feel I may need it soon!! Thanks for sharing these tips babe. It's the sick season... good timing!!

The hot and cold thing was the worst. Hot inside, cold outside. My body would raise its temp, then I'm sweating and taking off clothes, then cold and layering up... over and over again. Oh well, so much fun!!!

I hope you're back to your normal self soon love 🖤🖤🖤

@katrina-ariel I think for me it's last day of recovering ! Thank you for bringing soooo much positive energy and huge smile to the SF3 I hope it's not the reason you tired and need recovery ! Happy to meet you in Krakow ...

It was fabulous to meet you as well! I'm pretty sure the late nights and a few hours in the cold one evening have something to do with my needing recovery. And the jet lag. Oh the jetlag. lol! All worth it. It was so much fun, and my pleasure to share my smile with you. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97