The only constant is change - my first year on steemit

This month I celebrate my first year on Steemit, and am feeling quite celebratory about it. And thanks to the inspiration of @riverflows and @metametheus, I am writing about my natural change that has occurred recently here on Steemit.
Table mountain pixa.jpg
source

When I began and for the first 11 months or so, I was a daily poster, seven days a week, a post a day, month in and month out. I pushed myself and nothing was more important to me than to get a post out before going to sleep every night. It meant I pushed myself, slept later or less, just to make the post. I haven't worked this hard in years. I don’t need to work hard and generally have a fantastic holiday life because my needs are few and my surroundings are idyllic on the south coast of Africa.

But since the hard Fork HF21, a few weeks ago, I changed. I stopped writing daily posts, and I spontaneously relaxed my effort. Initially I was voluntarily pushing myself to produce content, and it brought out the best in me. But since the FUD (fear, uncertainty and doubt) invoked by the hard fork, and since I was tiring psychologically of pushing myself, and since steem price was dropping like a stone and payouts were dwindling, I decided to just relax and not push myself so hard.
We all blog and curate voluntarily and it’s up to the individual here on steemit. Well, it just happened to coincide with HF21, but my mood forked with the hard fork, and I now no longer post daily but rather whenever I feel like it, which may be once a week or more, it doesn’t matter.

This was the biggest change that occurred in my life this year online, and on steemit. No more working myself hard. The foundation has been created on steemit, now the time to relax or change is in. And this change happened spontaneously. Would I have stopped daily posting if there was no hard fork? I don’t know, but probably, as I was getting tired. 300 posts later and the drop in steem rewards left me feeling less “pumped” to chase the profit, for that’s what it was, along with a desire to share my insights with the world.

So the winds of change arose naturally in my life this Spring – being in the Southern hemisphere. Spring is a natural time of change. Cape Town, my home town, experiences the most fierce and hectic winds every Spring. It is called the “Cape Doctor”, this South-easter wind because it blows away all the urban CBD pollution that may build up in the air. So it’s a built-in wind of change around September. Perhaps that’s why I acted as if "entrained" by a lifetime of growing up in the Mother City – Cape Town. It’s my windy season and time for a change, so I allowed myself to relax, change my focus and my lifestyle.

Writing my steemit daily blog post was the primary meditation daily up until now, and with it absent, I can focus on other things. I still write and post when I feel like it, but now my new focus is creating musical experience. Creativity has shifted to my other interests and dormant skills. I’m a total amateur but I enjoy deejaying, compiling “mix tapes” as they used to be called, one hour seemless dj mixes on my home Virtual DJ software.

Ironically, without any apparent connection, I have just been invited to perform as a DJ at a huge public electronic dance music event here called Organik, which occurs annually. Not on the main dance floor where they pump out 140 BPM (beats per minute) but on the secondary chill dance floor or lounge area. I play Psydub genre, at about 80-110 BPM, starting off at zero beats with Indian chanting and Sanskrit mantras to invoke an auspicious beginning to the event, since I’m going to be the opening act, then moving into a reggae dub style with mystical Indian undertones. Africa meets India you could say. Although reggae is Jamaican, it has roots in Africa.

So without trying, I went with the change internally, and it drew to me the opportunity to use the very creative skill I had begun to focus on. I will get paid for my DJ gig next weekend, so am spending time rehearsing musical mixing on the decks and writing less. This is how I roll with change. If I feel it internally, I go with it and it seems to open up natural doors of opportunity accordingly.

I will keep you posted as to how the musical event goes with my DJ gig next Friday outside the Mother City – Cape Town – in the countryside. It goes on all weekend non stop with electronic psychedelic trance music, a favorite here among the youth for the past 20 years, since it launched. Psytrance has come a long way, is faster than it used to be when it emerged in the late nineties, as the youth evolve into having faster brains, with more stimulus and less attention span, thanks to the digital era.

One thing is certain though, that this too will change, as tastes, styles and generations change constantly. Nothing can stop it. Trying to stop change is like trying to stop the wind.

Sort:  

Wow! Awesome! It’d be great if you could share your mixes on dSound, I’d love to hear them. Psydub is about the only electronic music I really enjoy, probably because of the slower beats and the world-music vibes.

Also: what’s the virtual DJ Software you use?

I haven’t worked on my I Ching translation project for 2 weeks now. Going with the flow and observing the anxiousness that arises when I feel ‘out of control’. It’s funny how even with awareness my controlling ego-self wants to go against the natural tides.

😊🙏🏽☯️

Good idea, let me aim toward dSound. Yes the world music element allows me to take sound samples from shamanic cultures around the world aw well as bring in Indian Vedic chants and acoustic instruments.

I use a free app on my laptop called Virtual DJ, it is online to download. My colleague has a Vestex simple outside control deck that plugs into a mixer so no cds even.

The Iching project will flow in its own time I presume.

Me too!!! I want to hear it too!

Posted using Partiko Android

happy 1 julianhorack, good to see i'm older then some :)

i prefer authors that only post once in a while, look forward to their post rather then, oh should i vote on this one also lol

Interesting insight there on occasional posts being worth more ironically on one level.

I am over 50 years old but was involved in the electronic music scene in my thirties so am reliving a revival but more tailored now to add conscious upliftment via my sound journeys.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

ou’ve been visited by @trucklife-family on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Isn't it funny how life just brings us what we need, when we make room for it. I can really identify with your 1 post a day everyday, I was the same, I still do write regularly but now, I find that some of my days are too full to sit and write so I let that day happen organically instead of bust my ass of trying to get a post done. Letting things go and embracing change is a powerful part of life.

Looking forward to hearing how your DJ set gos, have fun xx

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif ###### Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Thanks for the feedback @trucklife-family. We are on a similar path it seems.

Oh my gossh..... I want to hear your music! Psydub with 'world' elements sounds awesome.. I really love that style of chillout. And Im a huge reggae fan so that kind of fusion is right up my alley!!

I agree re relaxing on the writing. For the first year I wrote EVERY day... I still dont know how I did it. Of course Im still putting massive hours in with Tribe stuff, but that is kinda geeky problem solving, so that is okay.

I am just sorry it took so long to discover you... I dont think we have known each other that long?

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to be connected, I may gradually get to post my music choices and mixes.

Hi @julianhorack!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.994 which ranks you at #11311 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 93 contributions, your post is ranked at #89.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ohh! Looking forward to seeing how the gig goes for you. Also - “urban CBD?” What does the CBD stand for?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Gig went well, with my opening act.
CBD stands for central business district - the city center.

Congrats on your first year on Steem!
I hear you about pushing yourself to get a daily post -totally not necessary1 So much better to write when you are inspired or really want to.
I was so happy that you had shared your insights in you post - it was marvelous to read!
I took on that attitude in my gardening where I get done what I get down and I get what i get and I'm fine with that - a lot less stressing about it!
I enjoy the opportunity to write and engage with folks here on steem but I want to keep enjoying it - not stress about it and make sure I have my priorities in life right!

Thanks @porters a year on steemit sounds great. Moving into other activities lately, with the past week being about travel, socializing and festivities. We can be spontaneous within the time boundaries of nature.

Congratulations @julianhorack! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72