FACTS ABOUT THE REMARKABLE LITTLE BEE (DID YOU KNOW THAT WORKER BEES ARE ALL GIRLS?!!!)

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago

IMG_6555.JPG

DID YOU KNOW?!!! That a bee has two stomachs?!! Despite many years of bee keeping and savouring their liquid gold it is only recently I learned this little nugget. Ever wondered how she processes all that pollen without mixing her food and the honey? Bees have two stomachs! One for food. The other to store all the nectar she's collecting from the flowers, which will be safely transported back to the hive.

IMG_6489.JPG

If you ask any of my family who work the bee hives how much of a help I am; they will be very quick to tell you that I and my camera are in a world of our own while the bees are being worked. The dynnamics of this remarkable community intrigues me. Did you know that the only males in Bee Kingdom are the drones! Their sole purpose is procreation. No, they are not the bodyguards of the queen, they are her harem! You can easily distinguish the hard working girlie bees from the drones as drones are slightly bigger, and they don't have a sting. They are only tolerated for the purpose of growing the queens colony.

IMG_6517.JPG

At the moment many of our fruit trees are budding. I was blessed with some lovely photos at the guava tree where it was virtually vibrating with the dozens of pairs of tiny wings. The bees were methodically working to ultimately make their amazing honey. Did you know that one bee, in her very short lifetime will only make up to half a teaspoon of honey? She will fly hundreds of miles during that short time in serving her queen and her colony. In summer a little worker bee can live up to two months, whereas it is usually double that in winter.

IMG_6509.JPG

Honey is a powerful natural medicine. It is loaded with antioxidants. It's history goes way back. In the writings of the Babylonians and Indians they record the medicinal power of honey. There is Spanish rock art, thousands of years old, recording the honour paid to the little bee. And it is well known that the ancient Egyptians used honey for embalming, even burying jars of the sweet liquid with their royalty.

IMG_6526.JPG

We can learn so much from the life of the bee. The value of honey is incredible. Honey is a powerful anti-inflammatory with antibacterial properties. The little bee will sacrifice her entire life, in living and dying, for her colony. The harmony and balance within a hive is also a wonderful testimony to how humans should live and work together. Last week, here in South Africa, farmers painted poisoned molasses on tree trunks to get rid of ants. This horrible act demonstrates the total ignorance of people and intolerance of the world of animals and bugs. The ants were virtually unscathed while hundreds of bee hives were destroyed as the bees fed on the molasses. That means millions upon millions of bees killed by man's selfishness and ignorance. If only human kind would realize that our survival depends on the survival of the bees.

IMG_6528.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hey, where ya been? Hoping all is well for you!

Are you on discord? I think you'd love the #naturalmedicine discord :)

Too busy with the real world. Have big orders to finish and ship off. Plus still picking onions. And some major international power pipe has blown so our already terrible power company is putting us on rations. Our solar packed up over a year ago and we are being robbed blind by the power company but can't afford to re-do our solar. Now we have a couple hours of load shedding a day so my internet time is even more limited. I'm not on Discord @nateonsteemit. And not going to be joining in a hurry. @naturalmedicine asked me to join before they were an official group/tribe but I can't commit as my real world life is already too demanding

Yikes, that's a lot!!!

Still harvesting onion seed? That's a good thing, right?

Sucks about the power company. Are they charging so much because you're more remote, or are they charging everyone like that because of the problems on their end? Either way, that really sucks.

Gonna send this one to the wife. Nate wants bees.

Oh boy...I hope your wife isn't going to hate me?!! Goats...Bees....whatever next

Lol I gave up on the goats, and the bees are your brother's fault, you're in the clear.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent post, some of those facts I did know already. Here is another example of just how awesome the Creator is!

Posted using Partiko Android

You got some really cool shots of the bees! I liked the one with 3 bees best. Lots of good info about the bees too!

Thanks @goldenoakfarm! I had one shot with 7 bees! But some of them moved so fast it was a bit blurred.

Congratulations @buckaroo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Between you and your brother I'm becoming more impressed with bees than ever. It always makes me sad when I see a bee crawling exhausted on the floor. I'll try to help them up to somewhere safe to rest but I think they usually die anyway. I didn't realise their lives were so short. How long does a queen live for?

It's so frustrating all the poisons people keep putting out for bugs and then they wonder why bee populations are declining.

Posted using Partiko Android

@minismallholding a queen can survive up to FIVE YEARS!! It almost seems cruel that those little worker bees only live a couple months in comparison. You can always feed an exhausted bee a drop of honey. You'll be amazed at how fast she bounces back and buzzes off

What a wonderful post! I learned so many amazing things about bees from you) such close shots))) guys bees just for breeding, made me smile) I should reconsider my attitude to bees and people XD

Yes, you are right that people have a lot to learn from bees ... and strive for harmony with nature, or rather return to nature. Wonderful film La belle verte (1996)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for taking the time to read @inna-world! I will be sure to look for that film

I didn’t know that bees had two stomaches. What incredible little creatures. Although, I’ve never been a big fan of bees I’ve learned to appreciate honey bees. They are such a key factor in our ecosystem and survival that it is amazing that we are not more accommodating to them. I still don’t know what redeeming qualities or contributions a wasp has so am still quite terrified of those. Haha!

Wasps are definitely up for debate @puravidaville. I think most people don't realize how invaluable they are. Einstein said that if bees died out humans have 4 years to live. That's a scary thought! Missed you on #fruitsandveggiesmonday! But nice to see you're still around ;)

It is a scary thought. Thanks @buckaroo! I’m still around, just hit a busy point. Things will settle again after the holiday.

wow buckaroo what amazing little creatures! That is tremendous to learn such fascinating facts about them and the photos are incredible! Bees almost never sting people do they? I guess if their nest is messed with but other than that I see them all the time and they never bother me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79