[Exploring A Natural Medicine] Guava Leaves: From Diarrhea Remedy, To Beauty Care

Spread the seeds, and believe there is always good that can be enjoyed in the future.
~ Exploring A Natural Medicine With AnggrekLestari



GUAVA LEAVES.jpg


PROLOG

Guava is one of the fruits that is popular in rural areas in Indonesia. Guava trees are easy to live and thrive even without extra care. It's usually easy to find it wildly in a small forest in my village.

Ripe guava fruit has a sweet and very popular taste for various ages. Of course guava fruit is a popular fruit because it is easily available without spending money.

IMG20190323075355.jpg

IMG20190323075419.jpg



Guava trees are sturdy enough to hold the weight of an adult who climbs a tree. In fact, since childhood, I was used to eating guava fruit that had been ripe on the tree directly.

IMG20190323080124.jpg

Small tree, but still enough to hold my weight when I climb this tree.

I practice my climbing skills on guava trees, and rambutan trees. Even though I am a woman, growing up in a village must have climbing skills so that I can pick up fruits in the forest and compete with other children.

Many stories about guava that accompanied me to grow up. There are also many benefits of guava, including the leaves to cure diseases and treat body beauty naturally.

I will share with you the natural medicine and care of guava leaves. The instructions that I shared were the procedures for the medicine of my mother who was a traditional healer in my village.

I write about this natural medicine as part of my way to always remember what my mother always taught me.



IMG20190323080226.jpg

Shape of Guava Leaves

Guava leaves have pinnate leaf bones. The surface of the front of the leaf feels smooth, and for the back of the leaf, the texture of pinnate bones feels and stands out.

Young leaves and old leaves which of course have different colors and textures. Young leaves have soft leaf bones. The color on the leaves is light green.

The front of young leaves
The back of young leaves



OLD LEAVES

The front of old leaves
The back of old leaves



1. Traditional Medicine For Diarrhea

Diarrhea is a natural disease that often attacks residents. Even though the disease is natural, if it is not treated it will be fatal.

Diarrhea generally occurs due to infection of the large intestine, can be caused by viruses and bacteria, and is also caused by food (usually for Indonesians, eating too much spicy food can cause diarrhea).

IMG20190323081550.jpg

How to treat diarrhea with guava leaves:

  • Take 3 young guava leaves from tree directly.
  • Arrange it in layers, then place a little salt in the middle at the top of the leaf arrangement.
  • Gently roll the arrangement of guava leaves.
  • Chew the guava leaves, and swallow quickly.

NOTE:

According to public belief, so that guava leaves can cure diarrhea, then guava leaves must be eaten near guava trees, and the number of guava leaves eaten must be odd number.

The taste that is caused when eating guava leaves is not tasty. Of course, there is no medicine that tastes good. :)

Differences in Treatment Procedures

If you are looking for additional information on the internet, you might find a lot about how to treat diarrhea by drinking boiled water from guava leaves. But this way the effect is not as powerful as eating directly raw guava leaves.

In several sources on the local internet in Indonesian, I managed to find the same method as my mother's instruction. In this source, it is also said that to get the results of effective treatment you have to chew raw guava leaves with a little salt, not by boiling guava leaves.




IMG20190323080404.jpg

2. Care For Hair Loss and Lengthen Hair

For those of you who like to treat the body with natural ingredients available in your garden, you should not underestimate the presence of guava trees in your garden. You can take many benefits to treat the body with guava leaves.

Guava leaves can be a treatment Hair loss can also lengthen hair.

The method is enough to boil guava leaves, chill, then apply to the scalp, twice a week, before shampooing.

NOTE: Avoid using this natural hair care too often because it can irritate the scalp.




IMG20190323102228.jpg

3.Herbs of Bath Soak To Maintain Skin Health

For women, of course very happy to maintain appearance is number one. Including maintaining healthy skin.

Since ancient times, many people used guava leaves along with other tree leaves as a material for soaking. This herb is believed to brighten the skin, eliminate itching, and prevent allergies

Ingredients for making soaking herbs:

  • Guava leaves
  • Averrhoa bilimbi leaves
  • Screwpine leaves
  • Bay leaves

Guava Leaves
Averrhoa bilimbi leaves



Screwpine leaves
Bay Leaves



Leaf dose is in the same proportion. And, use as much as possible to match how much water is used to boil the concoction.

You can use herbs to take a warm or cold shower. If you want to soak in warm water, make sure the amount of water in the leaves is enough to make the water in your bathroom feel warm.

Your skin will become fragrant after bathing with this herb because of the ingredients of Screwpine leaves. You could say the herb is a traditional aroma soap. In the long run, a mixture of guava leaves mixed with other natural ingredients can brighten the skin.

CONCLUSION

IMG20190323081959.jpg

Guava trees have good fruit, while having many benefits for beauty care and healing of diseases. Guava fruit and leaves both have many benefits. That's why guava is a plant that you deserve to plant in your garden.

I can wait for the guava fruit to grow until it is fully ripe, and whenever I can use guava leaves for my body's natural medicine and beauty.

NOTE: My writing is not health advice. This article is based on the tradition of my family and people in my village, a small village in Indonesia. If you have persistent pain related to the treatment that I discussed in this article, you should immediately consult a doctor.



Previous Natural Medicine:

PHC-Footer-05.gif



NATURE MEDICINE SIGNATURE.gif



Sort:  

I had no idea that you could also use the leaves for so much! I only know of the fruit... and even then only in a mixed juice. I don't think I've ever eaten one by itself. Thanks for sharing your expertise!

The taste of leaf really bitter.

but for medicine it doesn't matter.

the ripe fruit is also beneficial for dengue fever medicine

Posted using Partiko Android

Two really standout things in this sweet post: (1) thai peoole have the same superstition about the odd number of leaves!! and (2) I love that your bath soak includes bilimbi leaves - I have a bilimbi tree in my back garden. Haha... but sadly, no bath. Great local wisdom... we have so many green guava trees here in north Thailand too. 💚

Thank you for sharing information about the same superstition in Thailand. At first I thought only in my area were applying odd numbers for treatment.

if for the ingredients to soak, don't forget to use screwpine leaves and bay leaves to add more fragnant

Thanks for stopping by :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Intersting natural medicine, I love guava. The trees are indeed strong, I use to use it to make slingshots

Posted using Partiko iOS

The treess make me happy because I love climbing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh wow thanks for sharing! For a city girl like me, this is tremendously helpful - in learning more about herbs and natural alternative medicine ((:

Thanks for reading 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I have used guava leaves for my skin before and it was actually effective!!! Thanks for sharing things that we ought to know more about guavas!

Great if it was effective for your skin.

Thanks for stopping by. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

It seems like a great idea to climb the tree and get leaves. We only have fruit trees around here to eat from. Occasionally nut trees or even blossoms are eaten. I don't know about any of the leaves. People tend to be eating little herbs mostly.

Climb the tree is favorite activity in village.

In another country, many people using guava leaves for religious tradition.

Posted using Partiko Android

You've been visited by @riverflows, on behalf Natural Medicine.

Wow! I love this post! Your detail, the local knowledge, the wisdom in here - let alone the presentation! So impressed! I wish we could grow guava - it's a tropical plant so I can't. Looking forward to more natural medicine posts from you - resteemed!


NM GEN 2.jpg

20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

If you'd like to support Natural Medicine on the Steem Blockchain, please join us on Discord, or delegate by clicking any of the links above! We're all about supporting those who write about natural healing, from herbs to yoga to being part of the natural world! Come join us!

I will more exploring about natural medicine from mu garden then sharing on Steemit post.

Thanks for support, and don't forget to push resteem button to helping this post reach more reader. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing article :D So informative and well written <3 I love guavas but I never knew their leaves can have so much wonderful uses !

Love all the photos, also <3

Thank you so much for stopping by

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Lovely that your mother was a healer and pass that knowledge on to you! I happy that you are sharing this traditional knowledge here on Steemit so we can all benefit plus it becomes a record for you too!
I'm afraid the guava trees will not grow here in Saskatchewan Canada but I still find it interesting to find out about the natural medicines.
Thanks for sharing!

Hello @porters

We are on Steemit for sharing everything and indeed must be useful information.

Guava trees are tropical plant. So, not grow in your area.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43