Hindu Occultism: The actual meaning of “Namaste” and the 7 chakras

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

What if I told you everything you know about chakras was wrong? The occult practices of ancient civilizations is extremely difficult to interpret, especially since the texts are written in hard to translate languages. The Western world, especially that of the yogic arena, have been appropriating Easter culture and occult practices for centuries. Theosophists in the early 1900s introduced their own bastardized version of the Hindu chakra system. After talking with @riverflows while answering @nateonsteemit 's question about the meaning of namaste (another bastardized Hindu term), I found that everything I knew about the chakra system was incorrect.

Join me in today's video as I go a bit in depth about the misconceptions and truth about the chakra system and the meaning of namaste from an Indian perspective.



LAM: Earth
VAM: Water
RAM: Fire
YAM: Wind
HAM: Space


Source: https://hareesh.org/blog/2016/2/5/the-real-story-on-the-chakras

LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas, Cat-herder aka Chief Bigstick
High Priest, Loser of Found Souls, Temple of Appled Thought
Erisian Ataxia Troupe : Caste of the Pulleiaceus Sun

Sort:  

Useful info then western culture has a habit of changing culture to suit our agenda. I learnt my reiki in India so know the correct meaning of Namaste. Interesting about the chakra too but wise words if it works for you then use it that way, generally if the energy and intention is there this is ok 💯🐒

Ugh, I know! The West is really good at that!

That's great you knew that correct meaning of Namaste already! Was I pronouncing it correctly? LOL

The chakra system is amazing to me. I always think about Taiji and the dantiens and their similarities. I knew there was something going on with translation and appropriation intuitively, this was just icing on the cake!

Aww it fascinating work a lot with chakras in my Reiki powerful stuff. And they (the scientist) have found energy emanating from the Chakra

I think you pronounced it right can't remember now nam e stay 💯🐒

Ah, I'm so excited about listening to this! It was SUCH a fun conversation!! xx

It really was an amazing conversation. I didn't realize I didn't know so much! HAHA! Thank you so much for catalyzing this, and @nateonsteemit!

Are these languages or symbols

Namaste and chakra are both words from the Sanskrit language. Chakras are symbols like these: E15F33A8-2821-4A39-A028-12C05F85E003.jpeg

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Congratulations @alchemage! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Finally got around to listen to this. You are so sensitive to culture whilst exploring this, and it is really cool to hear your understanding of what you have read. My yoga teacher always says that when you study yoga, one door opens and then there's another twelve doors!!!

The elemental understanding of the chakras makes sense to me - funny that more modern descriptions of the chakra attach pretty much EVERYTHING to each chakra according to their own personal interpretation In some ways, that's awesome - as you say, spiritual/yogic understanding can and should be fluid. As I said in the chat, what winds me up is people giving this knowledge as absolute authority when historically and culturally, there have been so many varied interpretations based on history/texts and so on. As you say, prescriptive not descriptive. And then you layer the Gods on that - wow. Such an interesting and endless topic.

'chakras are places where people have spiritual experiences' - yes, great way of seeing it. A grounded heart makes sense to me - but then, perhaps that starts with a firm foundation so your heart can BE grounded - when the winds of ideas, thoughts, anxieties and so on stir in my body I feel a strong need to ground myself through the body so my heart will settle. I'm happy with personal interpretation of all these systems - it's all svadyaya to me - but gee, i'm absolutely fascinated by the history of all of this.

My teacher also said that the colours were more muddied, more like the colours you'd find in the natural environment. I love that too. She has this painted on the top of the stairs of her yoga studio. They tried to replicate the colours as best they could.

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46