Who am I, and why have I started another blog on Steemit?!

Being as this is my first post on Steemit, let me introduce myself! My name is Christine Harazim. I'm 25 years old and the founder of a local Nashville music blog called "Nashville Offbeat." I graduated from Berklee College of Music as a vocal principle in 2014, moved to Nashville, and thought that the music scene here would just automatically find me. I couldn't have been more wrong!

Nashville is this magical place full of tons of people who are willing to network with you and be your friends, but you have to go out and fine them! This was my first lesson. I started waiting tables a few months after moving here thinking that the money would be good and that I would be able to create a schedule around my music. It ended up being the other way around. I ended up creating my music around my work schedule, and I ended up working such ridiculous hours that I kept saying "I'll do it tomorrow" until I wasn't doing anything. (Sound familiar?)

Fast forward two years and exactly 8 months from when I moved here to April 19th, 2017. I quit waiting tables, and started working full-time at a wonderful local business called Daily Juice which has allowed me to do what I love while not being a starving artist.

In April, I had gone to see some friends perform and brought my new Canon t6 with me to capture them and that's when the Nashville Offbeat Instagram was born! About two weeks after that, I got an email asking if I could interview someone about her latest release, so the website was created. And now here I am, three months later. I've seen over 100 local bands and artists perform live and done about 20 interviews with the non-country artists of Nashville. I have an official blog editor, Jamie Hagerty, and just brought on another writer named Liz Flynn who I'm super excited to have as part of the team!

This Steemit blog will hopefully become a place that you can come to gain some knowledge through my work. I've learned so much throughout the last three months and that growth will only continue. I want to share that with other musicians and bloggers alike. So hang tight! My next post will be on the do's and don'ts of submitting your music to a local music blog. (I've been wanting to write this one for a while!)

2 month collage.jpg

Sort:  

@christineoffbeat
Great writeup!
Keep sharing great content.
THanks!!

Great post! I made a discord channel for Nashville musicians to help better connect the community. Please sign up and share :)

https://discord.gg/eRCzNXk

Congratulations @christineoffbeat! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @christineoffbeat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44