NASA Estimates SpaceX 2018 Mars Mission Will Cost Only $300 Million

in #nasa8 years ago (edited)

Artists concept for sending SpaceX Red Dragon spacecraft to land propulsively on Mars as early as 2018

Ever since Musk founded SpaceX in 2002, with the intention of eventually colonizing Mars, every move he has made has been the subject of attention. For the past two years, a great deal of this attention has been focused specifically on the development of the Falcon Heavy rocket and the Dragon 2 capsule – the components with which Musk hopes to mount a lander mission to Mars in 2018.

Among other things, there is much speculation about how much this is going to cost. Given that one of SpaceX’s guiding principles is making space exploration cost-effective, just how much money is Musk hoping to spend on this important step towards a crewed mission? As it turns out, NASA produced some estimates at a recent meeting, which indicated that SpaceX is spending over $300 million on its proposed Mars mission.

Read the rest of the news ...

Sort:  

I love this article as I've been following Elon Musk's work as of late as well as NASA's and I wish to be among the first to colonize Mars.. If only I had a way. :(

Best post ever seen on steemit upvoted for you. if have some seconds please review my post https://steemit.com/nature/@simranverma/amazing-footage-shows-hawaii-volcano-smiling

Thanks @simranverma, upvoted your smiling volcano :)

Man I really hope they are able to do the mission but I feel like it will be hard to justify it because there will be no return on that initial investment. Elon is the man though! Please view my latest post. It is to help my friend Cyrus who is going to his second Olympics! He needs our help! I upvoted you. This is my most important post and the money isn't going to me. Please consider upvoting it. https://steemit.com/steemit/@brianphobos/an-olympian-needs-our-help-steemit-please-read-this-if-you-have-ever-been-passionate-about-something

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 11.4 and reading ease of 51%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65