NaNotes #3 - Trouble with the Curb

in #nanotes6 years ago


nanotes

We're at the halfway point for NaNoWriMo, but I have fallen behind on my NaNotes. I'm not sure why I would prioritize meeting the 50,000-word goal when I could just be writing posts that would net me a cool $5 or so. Get it together, man. Priorities. Anyway, I digress. Welcome to the third installment of NaNotes!

For posterity, this series is inspired by @naquoya's Notes (From An Amateur Writer) (he trimmed it for the most recent entries), which was initially a 30-day chronicle that also sought to help treat his writer's block. It extended far beyond the month and it included some of his best literary entries. If you're interested in reading it from the beginning, here's a link to the first entry: https://steemit.com/writing/@naquoya/notes-from-an-amateur-writer-1-the-search-for-inspiration

Go on, click on the link above. I know you want to. Do come back though, after binging on it. Please?

I won't fault you if that link lead you down the rabbit hole. @naquoya does have the ability to turn imagined worlds into reality. Believe it or not, some people have that kind of superpower. Belief… heh. It's funny because that's what fiction often tends to beg from readers. Which leads me to the post for today, so…

"Suspend Disbelief"


balance
Image Source

Those two words are quite often ties with anything fictional. Whether it's a futuristic science fiction or a modern love story, it's a phrase that always hangs at the back of our minds. No matter how much realism we try to inject, any fictional story has the capacity to go off the rails. Even though things are anchored by science or social norms, the storyteller is free to do whatever he wants. Really.


you-dont-say
Image Source

We could literally have an airplane crash into a suburban home and have only one casualty. Or, we could have unlimited bullets for the good guy who has just one handgun against an army with submachine guns and rifles. I mean, that's been done to death by action movies for decades now. No matter what the couch-bound critics say, no one would be able to stop the storyteller. Well, I guess except for common sense. But, what is common sense?

In the universe we create, common sense is whatever we want it to be. Decapitating people just because they jaywalked could be a norm in the universe we create and no one could say that it's wrong. I mean, they could but that would be a dick move. Who were they to dictate what's right or wrong in the universe you created, right? There, you are basically God.

Therein lies the conundrum though. If we build a world for our own, how do we expect others to get immersed in it. Could we just create it and wait for people to jump right in? In an ideal world, sure. But, the world we live in is far from ideal. There's a fine balance we have to strike. We have to appease ourselves and the audience.

Let's say you're writing a medical drama, but you're someone who has very little experience with the medical field. You just decided to write one because you're a fan of the genre, and everything you know is based on what you've observed during your trips to the hospital or other medical shows. When you write the wrong dosage or procedure, you can't expect doctors and nurses to just scoff it off. You're going to get questioned because you're playing in their reality.

I was reminded of this when I read my editor's notes, for my debut novel which I'm having run through the meat grinder in anticipation of a relaunch, some time ago. There's a scene there where acid was impeded by a bunch of plastic. The same acid that could melt metal and cement. My editor told me that I'm asking a lot of suspension of disbelief from audience regarding that. Mind you, he wasn't a chemist, but I wasn't as well. Who knows which one of us had more knowledge about Chemisty. Breaking Bad is my current favorite TV show of all time, so I'll answer that I do, but I don't think it's admissible. But, I did do my research regarding that. So, who was correct? Me or him?

In my defense, I was backed up by hours of research. It wasn't something that I just cobbled together because I felt like it made sense. I read through tons of papers to back my claim. To this day, I haven't replied back regarding that, but when I do, I would have words. In his defense, he knew the audience's pulse from experience and years of being an editor. He knew what would be believable and what would just be shrugged. I respect my editor to bits, but we were at an impasse.

I was paying him for his services, and he was doing his job. I'm at a crossroads as I could just easily accept his advice, but I would be compromising my story and would be throwing out hours of research. I keep thinking, "this is my world." He really wouldn't have a say about it because it was a self-published story and I had the final say. If I took him on as a publisher, then it would be a different story though. But, for this story, I call the shots.

It's not a deal breaker if I just gave in, but it begs the question, "should I?"

"Shutting off your brain"


turn-off-brain
Image Source

When doing NaNoWriMo, one shouldn't be bothered with discussions like this. If one wants to write 50,000 words in the span of a month, one should just write one's ass off and leave these questions for the following month. Taking breaks to think about what works and what shouldn't isn't something that's conducive to quick writing. If anything, one would be stuck at a couple of hundred words if one continually questions what one is writing. One should just shut off one's brain and trust one's process.

With that being said, this one (by that, I mean myself) realized that I have wasted what feels like an entire writing day just writing this. Writer's block is a bitch. I just wish it was my bitch, and it call me daddy. Alas, that is too much to ask.

On that note, I'd say this is a pretty good moment to end this post. What do you think, Larry?





Let's keep @lukestokes.mhth as a Top 20 STEEM witness, shall we? :D



If you enjoyed this, please be sure to follow

Sort:  

You mean dat bitch don't call you daddy brah?

Ah be telllin her ta git gone! :O)

Ah told her! Ah said, ah said, you be gon' now ya heard? Don't be comin' back here if you know what's good for ya! But she slapped me with a cane. With a cane! As ah lay bleedin', good lord I was bleedin' all over the floor, she was sippin' her goblet with what I reckon was gin an' juice, if you could believe that!

Why ai canna bahleev hur!

Good grief, what is my written accent turning into!?!

It's turning into what I imagine you sounding like, dude haha!

HAhahahahah, I gues it might be!

Nothing wrong with that, buckeroo! Nothing wrong with it at all. Me, I sound nothing like I write, so you'll be surprised when you hear my speaking voice haha Really though, I speak faster than I think, I think.

I can't even imagine your speaking voice!

Have you heard of this actor they call Morgan Freeman? He's been in some movies here and there. People have said that I sound exactly like him.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
If his balls were clamped in a vice grip..

Snatch the goblet from dat bitch and make 'er yo bitch brah!

Hahahahaaaa, I can't remember what I was going to say to this post now!!!!

I'm try'na ta when she ain't lookin', but she ain't called block fo' nothin'!

You's confusin' dis bitch wit yo trainer brah?

The last thing that trainer needs is a daddy haha! The first thing? A trainer. She needs the moolah to get herself back on a hoola!

LOLOLOL!!!!

Don't let'er fool ya, she's also a DOULA

A doula! Wayhay! What a deep cut haha! Their kind and Boom's path are forever entwined it seems!

I saw your message...the boom and I were just talking about this, lol. I wrote you back. I gotta run to the store for some nyquil for my coughing sneezing household, but I'll keep chat on.

What a coincidence! I'll take a look at it!

Lol, what an entertaining thread!

Dont mention the doula!!

Gah! I forgot to comment it in your new post! The Doula is like Beetlejuice! We mentioned her too many times, she returned!

Ha you might be right! None was more surprised than me when the good lady said of the doula is coming today!!

What the fuh bruh? :OD

If I have a sentence or word, or paragraph that has trouble fitting or is questionable in any way, I'll often try omitting it to see how things read without it. Now, if someone else told me to omit something I would probably have to think about it a lot before I would accept cutting it.
This reminds me too, I've also started scribbling another 'How to write' bit, but who knows where it will lead in the end, or if it will really be about writing.

Oh, that's a great idea! Might have to do that some time when I'm not pressed for time. Haha! I bet that whatever you come out with will turn out great, brother!

I could never never write a novel, I am one of those writers who question every word. I believe F. Scott Fitzgerald also toiled in this way, often getting no more than one page written in a day.

He was lucky then! It is quite hard to shut off the voices though, so I don't fault you with that. Personally, I think I'm just used to writing longform literature, that's why I have trouble with shorter ones. We just have our own strengths I think, so it's great that we get to experience each other's work. Thanks for stopping by, man!

Ay, ay, ay, just imagine how the AI will make everything look like, if the writers put too much atrocities in their stories.

As someone who works with AI on a daily basis, I figure it would do just fine. There was a whole short film entirely written by AI a while back, and suspension of disbelief is the least you could do to interpret that haha!

Do you mean Sunspring? Well, to me it looks like the experimental movies from 70-ies, or some early Woody Allen movie with Mia Farrow as the main actresss, or maybe Fassbinder or Herzog, actually the movies from time, when some directors simply didn't want to make classical Hollywood formula movies and started experimenting. Where did they get the text from? Internet? Or how do they do that? So, if I have some question about AI, then may I ask you?

Yeah, Sunspring. Sure, I'll be happy to answer any questions you might have. I'm not an expert though.

Will you correct me if I'm not reasoning correctly on this one? So, my idea how this AI works is you feed it some srt files of various genre or of one alone, put marketing and PR formulas, a Hollywood movie formula & main actors characteristics in the commands, add screenplay form and hit exe?

Hmm not quite. You don't feed it srt files, instead screenplays are compiled to make up the training set. It has other features in it like ratings and other meta criteria to give it a bit more flourish. The model is then trained and retrained, based on the discretion of the developers. No exe involved. Once they're satisfied with the model, it's used to create a screenplay.

What type of ratings? Popularity? And what type of meta criteria?

It's hard to tell for sure what they used. Probably data from sentiment analysis.

Nice post ☺ followed and upvote you...hope so you will do same for me 😊

Wow! You finished reading everything in one minute! If you could write a 500-word essay outlining the points that qualify my post as "Nice" then I will not only follow you, but I will also do your bidding.

You're on fire here!

I had to get some damp towels so I wouldn't combust! Really though, I blame the lack of spam farmers for this haha!

I dont know what they are up to. plotting somewhere no doubt!

Like cockroaches, they are hiding in deep dark spaces. The rustling you hear in the dead of night? Yup, that's them. Lurking in the shadows and all that.

good work i follow u

Thank you for following me, I am humbled. I swear that, as your leader, I will never lead you astray.

for your reply i upvote u r

Hmm let me get this straight, if I didn't reply to your comment, you wouldn't have upvoted my post?

Nice post ☺ followed and upvote you...hope so you will do same for me 😊

You followed someone else on my post just because he wrote a comment? Here I thought I was special...

Congratulations @jedau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48