NaNotes #1 - It's That Time of the Year Once Again...

in #nanotes7 years ago (edited)


nanotes

Welcome to the first edition of NaNotes! This series is inspired by @naquoya's Notes (From An Amateur Writer) (he trimmed it for the most recent entries), which was initially a 30-day chronicle that also sought to help treat his writer's block. It extended far beyond the month and it included some of his best literary entries. If you're interested in reading it from the beginning, here's a link to the first entry: https://steemit.com/writing/@naquoya/notes-from-an-amateur-writer-1-the-search-for-inspiration

Now, before anyone accuses me of ripping off anything, allow me to enumerate the differences. Unlike @naquoya's Notes, I promise that my NaNotes will not be used to get rid of my lingering writer's block, will not be creative and will most definitely be a regular thing. In fact, this might be the only NaNotes entry ever! With the steep word count requirement, I might just use this to warm up or as a repository for excess thoughts. This might act like a stream of consciousness thing. So, I guess the only similarity is the name. Really though, I just miss seeing posts from my brother from Down Under, and I'm just hoping that by writing a tribute, this would act as a sort of summoning spell to draw him back to the STEEM blockchain.

The Other (Other) Inspiration


nanogoal

Oh, and before I forget, this was also inspired by this little thing called the National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo. It's not that big of a deal, so I'll forgive you if you haven't heard of it before. As much as I want to have it easy and just describe things that can be found elsewhere on the internet, it goes against every fiber of my being. Guys, my being, alright? Just to let you know how serious I am. Instead, I just want to rehash this little post I wrote last year: NaNoWriMo Lessons for Non-Writers.

Even though it didn't receive a lot of comments, I have received compliments about it months after. So, if you have time, please feel free to check it out. You can leave your comments about it here on this post, I won't hold it against you.

Since this is Steemfest month, I'm sure that the feed would be flooded by Steemfest posts, both by participants and fauxrticipants. I just hope that NaNo posts would still receive some trickle down STEEM from all the STEEMclejerking haha! Sorry, I just had to ;P

The Declaration



Now that it's out in the open, might as well say it out loud: My name is @jedau, and I am putting my name in the proverbial hat. While I won't be able to post a NaNote every day, I will do my best to complete the 50,000 word requirement by writing not 1, not 2, but...


stories.png



Yes, that's right. You heard it here first. Most people don't even finish writing one story, and I'll be attempting to write, well... more than one. Do I have a deathwish? I hope not. Have I gone insane? Possibly. Did I leave the stove on again? Let me check.

While I won't be able to post any of it during the entirety of the month (because they would certainly make no sense), I will include updates for the current word count with each NaNote. Since I'm not part of any writing clique or have any other people to write NaNo with, I'm using the STEEM blockchain to hold myself accountable.

Much NaNo About Nothing

I've been competing in NaNoWriMo for a number of years now. While most of my entries haven't made it past the draft stage, my very first self-published novel and A Day in the Clouds are some of the finished products that have come out of it. There's a certain sense of motivation that comes with trying to meet the requirement. I guess, in a way, it pushes you to succeed. It gamifies the whole writing process. The social aspect adds a layer of camarederie and shared responsibility too.

Even if you're not a fiction writer, you can still do the whole NaNoWriMo cycle, I feel. If anything, it could help get you posting on STEEM. If you're an artist of any sort of medium, you can do this as well. It's really just an exercise of getting things done. For someone who contemplates a lot, it has proven to be really helpful for me in the past.

So, yeah. Come and join me in Nano-ing. Link your progress posts in my comments section and let's keep each other motivated and accountable. Here's hoping I can keep my NaNo winning streak alive!



Let's keep @lukestokes.mhth as a Top 20 STEEM witness, shall we? :D



If you enjoyed this, please be sure to follow

Oh, and yep, I left the stove on again.

Sort:  

Bahahaha love your plays on words XD I'll sit here and screech encouragement at you, won't be doing it myself because too many projects already XD

goatsig

Words are one of only two things I'm allowed to play with these days, so I try my best to play with them as much as I can :D I'm glad that it's being received well! Your encouragement and support is always very much appreciated, my friend! :D

Steemfest

STEEMFEST

STEEMFEST



;0)

Goodness me, you won't be able to post any of it? At all? Yikes!

Not a one, dude. Not a one. I just find it strange that this period would be dominated by Steemfest posts, which would, in turn, earn the most out of any posts. If that's not circlejerking then I don't know what is haha! It's like the community is rewarding people for just making it to Steemfest. At least they would be able to reimburse their expenses. Talk about the rich getting richer.

To each their own though. I don't want to come across as whiny haha I just think rubbing it on the faces of the people who didn't make it is not the way to go. And, if they're posting for people who are already there, then hahaha!

Oh hey, I posted a Halloween story yesterday in case you needed some late night reading, broyo!

Man, this new night mode just destroyed the aesthetics of my sigs and covers. Should've planned ahead haha!

Bloody hell did you? I will check it out, I thought this was your first for a while!

I don't mind a good steemfest post but some of them are ridiculous.

No, sir. No, sir. My November cherry had been popped by another, I'm afraid. But now I'm busy trying to retool all my images. Blasted, night mode.

Oh yeah, for sure. I didn't mean to generalize them. There are some great Steemfest posts I've seen before. Sadly, the feed is mostly populated by circlejerks.

Dash it. I just checked it out and mine too looks fucking awful.

I don't have time to retool my stuffs Wahhhhhh.. waaaaaaah!

I gave up on retooling mine too.. I mean, I already spent so much time making them, now I have to spend more time redoing them? Uh uh. No, sir. I'll just make things transparent in the future. The same thing can be said to Steemit Inc regarding gamebreaking changes like this. Pft!

Transparent. A fantastic idea!. Perhaps half transparent letting the background blurred through.

You sir, as you already know are a genius!!

Half-transparent? I'm open to that. Like semi-see-through lingerie. I like it!

You know, I keep telling other people that but no one seems to listen. At least now I have you to vouch for me, Boomdawg. Step aside, Einstein!

Hm, some new stories then. I'll read them. But for me, I'll continue with geoenginering series as I have the urgent need to put it out. For something else I'll see.

I'm not quite sure if I'll post them here, but yeah, I'll try to post updates about their progress within the month. Nice to hear interest in the stories even if I haven't printed them. Thanks for stopping by, my friend!

Maybe you can publish your book also on Amazon. I don't want to be some intruding person, but Tui Na for the head helps a lot, for instance after a brain stroke (it also causes lack of oxygene in the brain). Do you know how to do Tui Na? Then maybe you can help you nephew a bit. Check Lone Sorensson - she has a technique of reflexology based on Tui Na and head massage from the Andes for the head. However, I don't want to give any false hope, because people who have learned already can more easily recover the already acquired knowledge, sometimes at least.

I actually have my first book on Amazon, and these next ones would definitely be published there as well. Yeah, I know Tui Na. I'm actually an acupuncturist :D What my nephew has isn't actually something he acquired over time, he was born with the condition. Thanks for the suggestions though.

I made the decision to join WriMo this afternoon after two months of trying to talk myself out of it because I've been so damned busy I haven't even been a good Steemian! Well... I'm here. I'm committed and looking for other people taking the plunge this month. If I win it will be four years in a row. I think I can... I think I can... I think I can...

I do love the NaNotes idea. LET'S DO THIS THING!

You can and you will! Let's do it!

It is my sincere hope that I will be able to give this a go next year, for this one I will simply be your cheerleader and hope to enjoy anotther masterpiece like a Day in the Clouds when you're done!

Fingers crossed I'm not a one hit wonder! I do look forward to the NaNoWriMo that we get to write side by side! You're already writing at an unbelievable clip, so I'm not sure that a month dedicated to writing is even necessary for you.

I really hope to be able to write something fresh again this time. I'm due to plateau so I hope that these stories aren't it haha!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 94.0% @steemdrive upgoat, thanks to @jedau
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50