Nanomancer creative writing competition entry: Gryllus the Goblin

in #nanomancer7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for @benjojo's competition. For details and the information about the fabulous world he has created, please see his competition post.


This story has been deleted for personal reasons. If you wish to see samples of my fiction and poetry in a format that makes it easier to look at my work, please see my blog.


If you are a writer serious about improving your skills, the @ink-ubator community might appeal. Click the banner to check our web site for information.



Sort:  

I love this window into Goblin resistance! I already feel an attachment to Gryllus. Cheers @bex-dk !

Thank you! I don't feel like I have the intensity or imagery that you and Rhonda captured. Nor the uniqueness of GMuxx's entry. But I'm known for being overly negative. In any case, I can joyously lose to all of you!

Oh, never count yourself out to soon. I think you captured goblin society very well and alluded to a possible rift within it that opens up the world for further development. That's good world building!

I never thought I would feel empathy for a goblin before. Your story changed this. Great entry.

Thank you. But he didn't describe goblins as evilly as they usually seem. That was part of my inspiration.

@bex-dk , you've truly been an inspiration to us all. And a Godsend to the Workshop.

Another DITTO!!!

Ditto squared lol.

Hilarious! The language is elevated and elegant, with the tone that makes the fantasy genre so fun to escape into. The opening line - love it. But this - grokking! - what a brilliant foray between the medieval feel of fantasy (goblins, and all) into the Tech age! - While others celebrated the copious networking of cybernetics as the key to survival, Gryllus feared that the Nanomancer, since he grokked technology far more than even the great Grand Master Technofreak, would somehow access to the network and use it to defeat them all.

I am glad you enjoyed it. And weren't offended I considered you inspiration for some of Gryllus's technological issues

Dang! I'm a techno-phobe (only because I'm math-challenged and techno klutzy) but sign me up for those memory chips. I want 'em. Need 'em. As he quickly scanned titles, his memory chips automatically catalogued them along with the location of each tome. COOL!

Woot? Sci-fi and fantasy! Happy happy, joy joy! I think @gmuxx has some solid competition with piece.

Thank you! @Gmuxx beat me on the art at the least!

Ditto that - Sci-fi and fantasy! Happy happy, joy joy!

Contest. Deadline: an hour from now. Better luck next time... unless you're Bex or Rhonda. Oh my heaven. Writers, this is what happens when you write, edit, suffer through the red ink of critiques, decide what advice to use or lose, and write some more. Eventually, you write as readily as you breathe. You make it look effortless, ladies. (Note to self: Write more!)

Nice entry! I've read a few on the dwarf side, so this was a fun read from the goblin viewpoint.

Thank you so much for your entry, you completely nailed the brief!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59