MyPictureDay submission: Climbing Mt Dandenong's 1000 Steps

in #mypictureday7 years ago (edited)

20180203_113417.jpg

This morning I went to Mt Dandenong to hike up the Kokoda Track Memorial Walk, better known as 1000 Steps. It is very busy on the weekends and when we got there at 10.30 am, the car park was already full so we had to park along the side of the road. This is my second time doing this walk and I remember that I struggled a bit the first time but since I had just done lots of hikes on my Uluru trip, I think I am more fit.

2018-02-03 21.13.05.jpg

20180203_113954.jpg
Today I found out that the walking trek was created in the early 1900s. The first time I climbed it I didn't notice the plaques along the trail that were placed there to provide information about the lives of the soldiers who walked on the Kokoda Trail during the Second World War in Papua New Guinea.

20180203_113721.jpg
The climb up to One Tree Hill is quite steep and narrow. Because there were so many people, it felt a bit stressful for me because people were walking up as well as down the steps. There were some very fit people who wanted to run up so they kept saying "excuse me, excuse me!"

20180203_113414.jpg
The trip down was far less crowded because the path was wider. We enjoyed beautiful weather and good conversation!

20180203_113115.jpg
After the hike, which took about an hour, we went for lunch at a Malaysian restaurant in Bayswater. The Hainanese Chicken Rice is delicious and only 10.90 if you pay cash. We were too hungry so I forgot to take a photo.
I really enjoyed this nice half-day trip with friends.

Photos taken with my Samsung Galaxy s5.

This is my submission to the MyPictureDay contest hosted by @timsaid.

!steemitworldmap -37.886941 lat 145.317662 long 1000 steps hike D3SCR

@snooway

Sort:  

very nice photos!

Amazing photography
Lovin it

enjoy the trip! beautiful place is in nature :)

I love being in nature.

I see that. nice my friend

It looks nice and warm there. Are there any good scenic overlooks at the top? The woods look inviting. Nice photos!

Thanks. It was warm but not too hot. It is mostly woods and there is an outlook but we didn't walk to it.

Beautiful woods!

Yes. I think so too!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=snooway
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=mypictureday-submission-climbing-mt-dandenong-s-1000-steps


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know, you're an Honorable Mention in our Daily Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78