I busted my ass for MyPictureDay

in #mypictureday6 years ago

MyPictureDay-wk14--204.jpg

Yeah that’s right I busted my ass trying to get closer to a duck! I was going down a slope, slipped on pine needles and leaves. I fell on my ass and slid for about 2 feet. I was trying to get closer to this guy.

MyPictureDay-wk14--2000.jpg

MyPictureDay-wk14--2083.jpg

After I was down by the water a lot of other ducks started coming towards me. It's almost as if they were drawn to the sight of someone falling down a hill.

MyPictureDay-wk14--2070.jpg

Back in 2014 when I was getting started in photography I had bought a used Canon XT that came with kit lenses. Once I upgraded cameras and lenses I gave that old camera to friend. Today I borrowed the 55mm-250mm kit lens and that’s what I took the images of the ducks with. I have been looking through some old photos and just wanted to compare where I am now vs back then.

This week I also busted my ass figuratively. I got up early on Monday climbed down about 10 feet of rocks and stood out on a peninsula at the river in the cold and left with images that I really didn't care for. The sky was empty of clouds and the sunrise was just blah. On Tuesday after work I went to a state park which has a scenic area for looking out over the Arkansas River. Again no go. The images just came out bland. But Wednesday paid off. I started at the golden hour walking by the river and things weren't working out at first but then I chose a new spot and got these cityscapes with the blood moon coming up.

I don't know if they will qualify for the #MyPictureDay because I already made a post about them and I didn't have three images for that day. (The others from that day turned out really bad.) But I am proud of these and want to show them off.

Bloodmoon1.jpg

Bloodmoon2.jpg

Sort:  

You take some really nice pictures. Is there much editing done to those city ones to make them look like that?

Thank you!
I use light room mostly for editing exposure and cropping. I also use spot removal to take out the sensor dust. The first picture has a gradient filter to lower exposure because I wanted for people to be able to tell there was water below. Otherwise it would've been washed out. The bottom picture I used photoshop to take out a light pole that was in the center of the frame. It was distracting.

Oh thats cool, a lot of work goes on behind the scenes. Thanks for revealing your secrets haha

The first with the bird is so impressive 😃 well done!

Thanks. The ducks fly under a bridge at a nearby park. So I just stood in the middle and waited for it.

Really good Pictures ! I really like the ones with the cityscapes. :)

Thank you. I really like them too.

You’ve « caught » the moment !

great shots, life always appreciates the efforts.

Thank you!
I had a lot of fun with it. Wouldn't have chosen to do it a different way. Those failures were learning experiences.

How did you manage to get the first picture...crazy!

There is a small bridge that crosses a pond at nearby park. The ducks fly under the bridge to land in the pond. There were about four ducks flying toward me and I just started clicking away. I probably took 30 photos during that few seconds. So I kind of did a "spray and pray" with my camera. hehe. That was the best one of the bunch.

When I try to photograph flying birds I shoot hundreds of photos and when I am lucky I end up with just a handful of useful photos in the end.

Spray and pay haha That's awesome!

That's the best way I know to describe it. When the bird is flying like that, you only have seconds to capture it. I press and hold the shutter down until the buffer fills up and pray that the focus kept up.

Great sense of humor! The things we do to get the shot lol. This is a lovely set of images. The in-flight/in-coming bird is very cool.

Thank you!

There is a lot that we put ourselves through to get a perspective that people do not see everyday.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 11500 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program. APPICS is a new social community based on Steem. The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon. You can get a account over our invite link: https://ico.appics.com/login?referral=1fRdrJIW

@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88