Rickmansworth Aquadrome - 13 November 2018 - MyPictureDay Submission.

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Heron


heron.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!

Rickmansworth Aquadrome is a 20 minute drive from home and contains two lakes with a third very close by. I paid a visit two morning in a row, on the 12th and 13th November. All these images are from the 13th.

I arrived close to dawn to take advantage of the early morning light. I had hoped to find a Heron in the shallows to stalk for a while and wait for some action. I went to the spot I saw the bird the morning before but it was not there. Instead I found it standing on the boat shed which you can see in the next photo.


Gulls


gulls.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!

I like the way the light and the soft ripples in the water behave in this image.


Young swan likes my welly


swan a wellie.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!

Day before there was a lot of action with many gulls flying around, scrapping for food amongst the ducks and swans, but it was hard to get a sharp shot of any action as the light was flat and dull. This day the light was gorgeous but the only action was this young swan taking an interest in my footwear. I never tried eating a welly myself, I don't think they are very digestible and rubber flavour? Really?


Long tailed tit


long tailed tit.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!

With the lack of action, I decided to move on to see what I could find. I do very little wildlife photography and I've hardly got any pictures of small birds, so I'm pleased to have stumbled across this Long Tailed Tit. I love the way the bird has puffed out it's chest and I like the detail and the way the background is thrown out. Would have been nice to have a less messy foreground but I'm yet to find any wildlife that will respond to my direction. Why won't they listen to me?


Goose in flight


Goose in flight.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!

This was shot from the bank of the other lake in the area and there was a bit more going on here. Every now and then a flock of geese would take off or land in the water in front of me. As I said, I do very little wildlife photography and I find birds in flight very difficult. I took hundreds of shots and only ended up with a couple that I would want to show anyone.


Skimming the surface


Skimming the surface.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!

I call this a nearly shot, I like everything about it except the shutter speed was not quite fast enough and the tip of the left wing is too blurred. I think the head is slightly soft too. I had my ISO set too low and so my shutter speed that was also too low as a result, ah well, there'll be a next time.


Autumn's golden paint brush (1)


Autums golden paint brush.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!

I finished off my morning capturing some autumn colours. I just love autumn's golden paint brush.

Autumn's golden paint brush (2)


Autums golden paint brush-2.jpg Please click on the image to view full screen!


This set was shot with an Olympus OMD EM1 Mark 2. For the wildlife shots the lens was an Olympus 40-150mm F/2.8 Pro with a 1.4 teleconverter which makes the long end 210mm (420mm equivalent on full frame camera).

For the scenic shots I changed my lens for the Olympus 12-40mm f/2.8 Pro.

Thanks for reading and if you have any questions I'll be happy to answer in the comments.

Richee

Website https://www.richeewilson.com/
Instagram

Sort:  

Beautiful places, good photo.

That curious young swan and this tit - they are amazing @richee.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32